Pug Life

I didn’t choose it- it chose me.

Here’s a digital painting that I’ve been working on recently. Which, because I’m writing this post, will never be finished. Or at least that’s what the general trend with my digital painting efforts would lead me to believe. That said, it’s not as a result of writing posts that digital paintings are likely to never be finished- it’s instead that because the painting is likely to never be finished that I decide to draft the post. If nothing else it allows me to use some of these attempts in a constructive way that’s conducive to further progression.

However, I’m still hopeful that this piece will be finished at some point.

I can’t say when that point will be and whether it’s in the immediate future or not. I’ve reached that (commonly arrived at) moment where I’m not sure how best to continue with this particular piece. It’s reasonably obvious that the next stages would be in painting the beige and cream fur on their face, it’s not as obvious, however, how I would go about doing that.

Which is another event I’ve identified as a quite common occurrence with my digital painting attempts. Each has their own moment where I suffer from my inexperience and am unable to move forward in a way that I feel represents the overall quality until that moment, thereby reducing the likelihood it will be finished and further adding to the innumerable list of abandoned pieces. Many of which were highlighted in Multiple Attempts. Again, that post exists for the sole reason of giving a visual indicator of the state of many of the previously mentioned digital paintings. In a way further reinforcing the point I’m making here, as, without some indicator of progression, it could be hard to understand the dissatisfaction (for lack of a better word) I have for them.

Fluffiness rising.

Fluffiness rising.

I also realise that digital painting has been a topic that I’ve returned to several times. Each time I’ve had a different opinion, a different approach, and a different way to solve the various issues as I perceive them to be at the time. I don’t disagree with anything I’ve said, either. This is (as I see it) part of the creative progression process. Exploring different options, using different approaches, exploring new materials, and understanding the results of those decisions are all important components in getting the results you want.

Not that I have been getting the results I want.

Then again, I have started to notice that as I’ve worked on this piece I’ve slowly begun to understand more about how all of the different pieces of digital painting come together. Most notably I’ve noticed many improvements by working with a larger canvas. I usually work with something reasonably large- but it would seem that bigger is better in this case.

I’m also starting to piece together a consistent illustrative style which isn’t too realistic but acts as a decent foundation for further improvement. Whether I’d like to move towards realism, towards coloured lined pieces, or towards something in the middle I’ve not decided yet. But I do find myself feeling more comfortable with digital painting. I’ve also felt my general brush/pen control has improved. Again, in comparison to traditional pieces, this process is accelerated to a significant degree, as I’ve been working with these digital paintings for just over a year. Which is why I’m not entirely disappointed in the results, as I’m aware that it will take significantly more time and investment before I’m seeing the results that (at the moment) seem almost unobtainable.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

One thought on “Pug Life

  1. Pingback: January to March 2017 – Moggie @ WordPress

What's your opinion?

