Happiness Hat

Guaranteed to bring a smile to your face!

I’ve been thinking about things recently. Mostly about the collection of sites, what I’m doing, what I’d like to be doing, and how best to take everything forward to balance the content output and the quality of the resulting posts. I’ve also been making small (but meaningful) changes here and there. I haven’t done much art in this period, either. There was a small flurry of posts related to digital painting which resulted in Momentary Regret, which was another setback to add to the innumerable list of them. But I still believe digital painting could work for me.

It’s just a matter of figuring out how.

"Half price bran flakes?!"

“Half price bran flakes?!”

Traditional art has been a little hit and miss, too. Which is entirely my fault. I’ve been thinking about changing a few of the approaches, styles, and materials I’ve used for some time. That decision isn’t particularly conducive to a consistent quality output, though. So I’ve been frantically sketching and doodling a variety of different things. Most of which never reach anything.

That said, there are a couple of those sketches in this post. The first is a standard abomination from the Warcraft universe, who is surprisingly health conscious and wears a rather dapper small hat. Likely stolen from a Worgen. Or from any race that would wear a top hat. It’s a little small mostly because they’re so large. But that’s what you get when you stitch something together from a collection of other, unrelated, likely deceased creatures. I’ll admit- it’s a little odd. But I wanted to do something a little less serious, a little less thought out, and a little more enjoyable. Just for fun. I’m still allowed to have fun with creative disciplines, right? It’s amazing how often you’ll find people suggesting you can’t or shouldn’t.

One of the things that this sketch did reinforce was the notion that ink is a pretty good material for me. I’ve been thinking about that a lot, too. It’s interesting how both pencil and ink appeal to different kinds of work I’d like to do. Then again, that’s also a situation which is entirely my fault. As I could have chosen to work with a couple of materials, but instead I’ve worked with quite the list. Of which I’m still enjoying the majority of them. So it’s hard to place which would be best for what and which would be the default choice.

That's a turban... not a bandage.

That’s a turban… not a bandage.

You really don’t want to stress about materials as much as I do.

Which then brings us to the second sketch. I’ve been wondering if it’s better to approach character concepts with pencil or with ink, there are arguments to be made for both and there are styles present for each. In this case the topic of choice was the Occultist from Darkest Dungeon. A character design I’ve always dearly loved and felt was particularly apt for their role.

One of the things I really like about this sketch is how it all comes together. Admittedly, the turban is a little wonky and probably wouldn’t fold like that. Also, the nose is a little odd. Likewise, there really isn’t much development in his clothing at all. But besides all of that- it’s not bad. If that’s even a logical sentence at this point. Then again, one of the points I’ve often emphasised for anything that I do is that it’s about the journey. That’s what we’re discussing here. The journey, the experiences, the better, the worse, and everything that goes with that. I’m not looking for perfection (not that I’d ever be likely to achieve that). Just consistency and enjoyment from creative disciplines. I think I’m getting closer, though.

Have a nice weekend, all!

Moggie

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

Darkest Dungeon, the Occultist, the Ancestor, and all associated trademarks and devices are owned by Red Hook.

2 thoughts on “Happiness Hat

  1. Pingback: Multiple Attempts – Moggie @ WordPress

  2. Pingback: January to March 2017 – Moggie @ WordPress

What's your opinion?

