“Wark! Wark!” – 2016 – Digital – click for full view on site!

The trustiest of steeds.

Chocobos are definitely one of the iconic elements of the Final Fantasy series. One of the most diverse, too. Each colour often represents a different trait or ability, from the limited flight capabilities of black chocobos to the legendary racing capabilities of golden chocobos. In Final Fantasy XIII-2 they were even potential party members. They’re quite interesting creatures and you’ll likely enjoying riding them if for no reason other than their particular theme music.

It’s an addictive piece of theme music.

This particular chocobo is referenced from Final Fantasy X/X-2 while this particular piece is actually quite old. Well, a few months old at least. It was one of the many digital pieces I was working on over those few months of digital painting here on Moggie @ WordPress. It isn’t finished, but it’s as finished as it can be as I’m still not sure how best to approach digital painting.

That said, I did want to share something with my readers. Many of you engaged with the previous digital painting work in progress posts- which I appreciate- and I would like to give you all at least a little something before we take a rest from digital painting. I still feel it’s the best decision, but I don’t want to seem ungrateful for all of the positive support I received regarding those digital paintings. Plus, it’s a chocobo! What’s not to love? It’s certainly a welcome addition to my personal site, too. Given that the Final Fantasy series is one of the biggest reasons I’m as interested in gaming as I am. That and Chrono Trigger. Which gets double the love because of the Akira Toriyama art style.

"Wark! Wark!" – 2016 – DigitalFor this piece I decided to paint a young-ish chocobo. Mostly because I imagine that baby chocobos would look like baby chickens. In other words- fluffy and adorable. Which is mostly an excuse to paint tiny, intricate, almost invisible details. As I do. Also, don’t ask about the beak. That was one of the larger concerns I had with this piece and I didn’t really know how to approach it. So it’s sort of unfinished but finished. I tried to clean it up a little, too. Make it look a little more respectable.

I’m proud of that nostril, though.

This particular style is just another example of the many different things I’ve tried. I like those. They make my personal site that much more enjoyable to browse as you never know what you’re going to get, especially when you consider the older pieces. Which were set in their own ways- and their own styles- for such a long time.

On the other hand, it’s nice to be trying new things and branching out not only to new styles but to new materials. Or, rather, materials I’ve had for some time but have not used. Or, rather, have used but never shared the results as they were less than satisfactory. It’s complicated. As is many of the things that I do. It wouldn’t be half as much fun if it were simple. Certainly be a lot less stressful, though. Not that creating things should ever be stressful- it should be something you do because you enjoy doing it. Any time you’re not enjoying it, you should probably take a step back and assess what went wrong and where. Then rectify that situation.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

Final Fantasy, Chocobos, Moogles, Genji equipment, and all associated trademarks and devices are owned by Square Enix.

One thought on ““Wark! Wark!” – 2016 – Digital – click for full view on site!

  1. Pingback: September to December 2016 – Moggie @ WordPress

What's your opinion?

