Failed Tree Attempt #206 – 2016 – Acrylic – click for full view on site!

I’ve lost count along the way.

To say that I’ve probably drawn thousands of trees over the course of my life wouldn’t be an exaggeration. To say that I’ve probably used every material I have in creating them wouldn’t be an exaggeration, either. I like trees. They’re green (or in this case orange-y), they’re interesting, and they come in a variety of shapes and sizes. That said, this piece wasn’t planned and you could even say that it was a happy accident. One that has surprisingly good textures, too.

A rare example of the scanned version swaying my decision.

Usually, it’s the opposite. The scanned version will look awful in comparison to what (I think) is an otherwise good piece. Or (most common) the colours will be misrepresented in the scanned version and you’ll need to do all sorts of colour balance magic. But, in this case, it actually helped me see some really positive points about this piece.

Like the textures. The bark has an especially delicious texture, while the leaves, albeit not as detailed, also possess a rather nice texture that illustrates the layered approach I take to acrylic painting. Something that I’m still a novice at, too. I’ve done maybe two if not three acrylic paintings prior to this point, none of which I’ve shared, and most of which are great examples of growing pains. Then again- it is a completely different process to watercolour painting. On the one hand that’s a good thing. On the other it’s very confusing. As I tend to work from light to dark with watercolours, while with acrylic I’m working dark to light. With the opaque nature of the paint actually opening up new possibilities.

Failed Tree Attempt #206 – 2016 – AcrylicI’ve always felt that acrylic painting could be useful for creating scenic/landscape pieces. It seems to fit. I’d need to learn more, though. An awful lot more about how best to use the actual paint (due to the varying levels of permanence), how best to apply it, and general understanding of which brushes do what. Again, while you would think that from years of watercolour painting I would already have established these things- it really is completely different. At least to me.

Maybe that’s where the problem lies with it.

Or maybe I’m just thinking too much about the process. I’d say that I have infinitely more confidence with watercolour painting than acrylic painting, which is more than likely the biggest detriment to success with acrylic painting. But confidence comes in time. It comes with painting yourself more than painting the canvas.

This piece also allows me to expand the number of paintings I have on the site. It further allows me to include the previously absent acrylic paintings. Or one of them at least. Equally, it allows me to create an even more diverse range of pieces on the site as there’s almost quite literally a little of everything on there now. Not that I’m upset about any of these things, nor are these things a justification of why it should be on the site. It’s just nice to see my personal site expanding a little further. I don’t really know what I’d define this style as, though. But it’s not like you have to label things for them to look neat. That, again, is just a happy accident as a result of their existence.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

One thought on “Failed Tree Attempt #206 – 2016 – Acrylic – click for full view on site!

  1. Pingback: September to December 2016 – Moggie @ WordPress

What's your opinion?

