Leopard Warlock

Ever seen a leopard summon demons?

Those who have read Fluffy Chops will be aware that I’m working on a new digital piece. It’s quite an interesting piece as I’m slowly getting an idea of what makes up my digital style. Oddly, it’s completely contradictory to my traditional style(s). In that digital is more of a whirlwind of colours and textures, while traditional is (for the most part) careful and precise with intricate detailing to create unique compositions. That said- I’m glad. I’m really glad this is starting to make sense now.

It’s interesting seeing the piece evolve, too.

Leopard WarlockI’m not sure what it will look like when it’s finished, though. There are definitely hints of that careful, precise, and intricate detailing coming through. Especially with the lower mouth as it looks so fluffy like that. I’m not sure what my fascination is with fluffy things, either. It seems to be a trend in recent digital pieces at least.

I mostly wanted to share another work in progress of this piece as I feel this one is more coherent. It’s easier to see what it should be, how it will develop, and what it could potentially look like. You can also get a feeling for the size of the piece. The ears are interesting in this respect, as I originally planned to crop them out of the final presentation but I might leave them in. They too are so fluffy. I can’t exactly give a date for when this will be finished, though. I haven’t been feeling too well recently which has led to me not working on it as much as I would have liked to. Which, yes, is an excuse- but it’s hard to paint when you can barely see straight. Or paint in a straight line when you can’t stop sneezing.

Those who have been following the recent WoW: Adventures in Azeroth series will recognise my Orc Warlock below. Or, they won’t. As I’ve never actually shared anything regarding him. I wanted to do a few traditional doodles to stretch my traditional muscles. They’re not very big. Sadly. Though they’re more developed than my digital muscles. Like some sort of artistic behemoth with four arms, two for each discipline, both like noodles and unable to pump iron. Or pencils. I don’t know what I’d lift as an artistic body builder.

Leopard WarlockEasels? Supply boxes? Piles of sketchbooks?

I wanted to get that looser, lighter, sketchy style back. It’s been a while since I’ve been able to use that one reliably. I’d say it was a moderate success but needs work. Especially in terms of being able to carry the looseness over to the inking, which is often a little more rigid. It doesn’t feel as natural to me. But I’m sure I can fix that. Possibly. Maybe.

I think I’ve realised recently that when you lose something of significance that all of the things that used to seem so important no longer do. I’m not sure if it’s the urge to be comforted, or simply that you reassess what you’ve got and what that actually means. Or maybe you never cared that these things were pointless or worthless because you always had that something of significance. It’s an odd mental state to find yourself in. There’s definitely an element of despair, of sorrow, and of loss. But… it’s oddly motivating. In that creating things feels so natural that you want to create something good from all of those negative emotions. Almost as if I don’t know what I’d do if I didn’t create something.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

World of Warcraft, Thrall’s Balls, Gnomish Engineering, and all associated trademarks and devices are owned by Blizzard Entertainment.

One thought on “Leopard Warlock

  1. Pingback: June to September 2016 – Moggie @ WordPress

What's your opinion?

