WoW: Adventures in Azeroth (Pt. 5)

An enticing mistress.

One of the most interesting aspects about this return to World of Warcraft is how much I’m enjoying it. I fully expected that after the free week I got earlier this year that the nostalgia would wear off- but it hasn’t. I’m probably more nostalgic than I’ve ever been. I’m not entirely sure if that’s because I’ve got more content to experience than I know what to do with, or that I really didn’t like Cataclysm. To be honest, while soloing a few of the dungeons the other day I got the same feeling even then. Cataclysm… just wasn’t good.

Which is odd when you consider that’s when Moggie started to make significant progress. But, still, the silly rotation that Retribution inherited along with the general class changes just made me feel a lot more comfortable in Protection. Which then led to me soloing almost all of the time as I wasn’t interested in the world content.

Hence why my subscription kind of fell to the wayside for a while.

Warlords of Draenor has certainly increased the chances I’d maintain an active subscription by a significant percentage. I’m a lot happier, having a lot more fun, and enjoying all of the content I’ve experienced since I’ve returned. It could be that once the excess content expires I’ll burn out in the same way as I did before. But, I don’t know- I don’t feel like that’s going to happen this time. Even looking at the sustainable progress I’ve made with my Horde characters fills me with an amount of enthusiasm. I’ll probably be doing a lot more with those in the future as a result of it, too. It’s also nice to have some new characters to experience content with. Further still if I purchase Legion and invest in a Demon Hunter.

As it does on yours, Thrall.

As it does on yours, Thrall.

The Horde has been a major focus this time around. I spent some time with my Shaman, Warrior, and Warlock building up their professions to make sure they’re all relevant to the content they’re currently levelling through. Voljaarn (the Shaman) has also been through the Mists of Pandaria content and is now sitting happily in his garrison. Warlords of Draenor content is next on his list but I don’t know if he’ll be pushing to Lvl 100 just yet. I’ve got a couple of other characters to think about first.

Kirinastei (the Warlock) is one of those. As he was the only character I had prior to the Warlords of Draenor upgrade that wasn’t Lvl 70 or higher. Levelling through Outland (or at least half of it) seems to suggest that the experience there is unchanged, which likely means Northrend is also as I remember it. Cataclysm, too. Mists of Pandaria just seems quicker by default.

There’s also the newly made Death Knight.

I’m still debating whether it’s a better idea to use the free Lvl 90 boost (that I likely won’t use elsewhere) to improve his professions or progress through them organically. I don’t particularly like skipping levelling experiences, though. I’d rather not level the character at all than skip all of it entirely. Still, Death Knights are a bit of an exception to that rule. Then again, I begin to wonder if Demon Hunters might face similar problems. However, while I’m not entirely sure of this, it would seem that you can progress through professions in Warlords of Draenor regardless of currently known recipes. So maybe that’s an option for the two of those? It’s a difficult choice to make as it’s somewhat permanent once committed to.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

2 thoughts on “WoW: Adventures in Azeroth (Pt. 5)

What's your opinion?

