Fluffy Chops

The fluffiest of chops.

One of my primary weaknesses with digital art is actually drawing anything. So- how about we combine something traditional with something digital? It seems like a fairly logical and straightforward idea, right? But let’s take this one step further and suggest the marriage of a traditional style and a digital approach. This piece has been sitting in my folder of collected artistry (which should totally be what that folder is called) for about four years.

I originally intended to continue forward with Faber Castell Polychromos.

But it does present a rather interesting opportunity to dive straight into this concept of combining pencil sketches with digital colour. Those who’ve been here for a while may remember I attempted something similar with Painting Pencil. However, here, we’re not using the pencil as a base for anything. It will be entirely painted over.

It’s also entirely unlikely I’ll return to this piece after four years and continue as was. It could be incredibly useful for this particular experiment, though. As I don’t need to worry about preparing something new. Which is one of the reasons I like to scan in various sketches and scribbles that I don’t use otherwise, as they’re useful for times like these. Where I like the sketch or scribble but don’t have any immediate plans for it but could one day. Some of them are also useful in the creation of new ideas as I’ll like the concept, or the style, or even the combination of the two- but it’s not where I’d like it to be yet. Basically it’s a huge balancing act.

That's a nice nose- but how does it smell?

That’s a nice nose- but how does it smell?

It gives me an opportunity to make more work in progress content, too. I know some people like to see that. Of which, regarding digital art, we have quite a lot more than expected this year. It’s difficult to find a point at which I’m happy sharing a work in progress, though. The first of which for this piece was a disembodied floating nose. I have a very traditional painting process whereby I don’t lay down a lot of base colours. At least not until I’m ready to use them. As I find the piece evolves more organically that way.

But I did try to fill out the face.

In terms of composition, compared to the original piece this version will likely be a little smaller as I’m still getting used to the process and the intricacies of the subject matter. I’ve not even started the advanced fur patterns yet. Still, I’m hoping it will be a fairly sizeable piece when complete. Also, as always, this is subject to change.

I can never make up my mind about anything when it comes to these sorts of things. I’ve been mulling over the style for a while, too. I like the texture that’s currently present for the fur and that nose is probably the best nose I’ve ever drawn. Human or animal. Not too keen on the eye. As it feels like it stands out too much. It doesn’t flow with the organic shapes created by the fur texture, either. Still, that’s the joy of digital art. I can always disable those layers, add new ones, paint a new eye, see if it’s any better, and then decide which I want to use. I’ll be working on this when I feel it’s appropriate to do so over the next week or so. Could be done sooner, could be done later- I can’t say either way. Unfortunately.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

3 thoughts on “Fluffy Chops

  1. Pingback: Ten Year Anniversary – Moggie @ WordPress

  2. Pingback: Leopard Warlock – Moggie @ WordPress

  3. Pingback: June to September 2016 – Moggie @ WordPress

What's your opinion?

