WoW: Adventures in Azeroth (Pt. 3)

The end of an era.

Wrath of the Lich King was one of my favourite expansions for World of Warcraft. While that might be an unpopular opinion with some, I’ve always wanted to conclude the story of the Lich King and participate in the siege of Icecrown Citadel. It’s a pretty epic event. It’s also huge. I’m actually surprised as to how deep and complex both The Black Temple and Icecrown Citadel have been. That said, Moggie was nowhere near ready to face off against the Lich King when the raid was still relevant.

It’s been one of my regrets over the last few years.

During Cataclysm I reckon it would have been nearly impossible to solo that encounter. In fact, when I came back for the week earlier in the year I attempted to siege the gates as a test to see how possible it would have been. I didn’t have too much faith in my ability to defeat the bosses, though. It was evident I’d need to be more powerful. Significantly more powerful.

It’s likely that if I was active during Mists of Pandaria that a Lvl 90 Moggie might have been able to do it. But that’s irrelevant now. Yesterday I spent some time out in Northrend completing dungeons and I’ve finally got a complete set of all classic dungeons, all Outland dungeons (and Heroics), and now all Northrend dungeons (and Heroics). I’m slowly working through the various raids as I have a few left from classic, a few more from Outland, and a few in Northrend. Icecrown Citadel was amongst the raids I soloed yesterday, too. Moggie was finally able to witness the fall of the Lich King in person. Delivering the final (and every other) blow to Arthas to conclude their stories.

"No king rules forever."

“No king rules forever.”

Moggie has nearly completed every piece of content available when he was first created. He’s also seen some things. Like the fall of the Theramore, the retaking of Gnomeregan, the events of the Broken Shore, the second invasion of the Legion, and experienced many classic raid stories. Notably those of Molten Core, The Black Temple, Icecrown Citadel, and Karazhan. It’s hard to believe that all of that could have been possible when I made him six years ago. Admittedly, few of these things were done when the content was relevant- but the memories are just as precious.

It’s far from over, though.

In the last couple of years there has been a steadily increasing amount of content introduced to World of Warcraft. But will Moggie be there to experience it? Good question. I’m currently looking towards all of the Cataclysm dungeons (and Heroics), then I’ll likely move onto the Mists of Pandaria dungeons (and Heroics). Not sure where I’ll fit the raids into this.

Even if he isn’t there to experience it… I’m glad he was there to experience this. The end of a story six years in the making, across several continents, over several expansions, through quests and dungeons, collecting accomplishments, honouring old content, and taking the fight to them as a Retribution Paladin. Or as Protection Paladin. But Moggie has always been and will always be a Retribution Paladin. While he was never intended to be my main (in the most literal sense)- he certainly has become that. That said, Moggie has funded a great many things over the years and has supported many of my other characters. So, really, in the end, while he is the most played the others certainly have a place and a purpose in all of this.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

What's your opinion?

