WoW: Adventures in Azeroth (Pt. 1)

Wherein countless adventures and endless wonder awaits.

I thought this would be a fun silly series where I could talk about recent World of Warcraft adventures. I’m not planning to make this a full length series, but that is subject to change depending on how much I enjoy the pre-expansion and post-expansion experience. I won’t be taking part in Legion, though. At least not at release. But I might get into it later in the year if I’m really enjoying the recent changes and new content. I’ve got a lot of catching up to do over both Mists of Pandaria and Warlords of Draenor, too. So we’ll be here for a while.

Needless to say I’m quite confused at the moment.

I’ve heard tell that they were focusing on rebuilding the character classes in Legion. I’m glad they’re taking another look at character classes as I feel that Cataclysm changed them quite drastically, often just repeating similar (or the same) abilities from one character class to another. Of the little I’ve seen of the Paladin (Protection and Retribution) I’m liking the changes.

I’m mostly thrown off by the fact that Protection Paladins don’t seem to have Blessings any more. Or Greater Blessings as they’re now known. Also, that they’re missing the Righteous Fury threat buff that was prominent for a while. That said, the former is more of a curiosity and the latter is probably handled elsewhere. Retribution feels a lot more versatile and some of the talents are really versatile. I’m particularly enjoying being able to customise my abilities as to how I’d prefer to play. Often with many abilities being altered to do damage over time, or direct damage, or even a damage ability that heals the Paladin. Somewhat reminiscent of the ability that Blood Death Knights have had for a while.

"Put your faith in the light and all is possible."

“Put your faith in the Light and all is possible.”

It certainly leads to some interesting decisions. I’m particularly fond of the idea of Justicar’s Vengeance. Despite being more expensive than Word of Glory and lacking the multiple target healing, it probably suits levelling/soloing better. As that’s not only a good chunk of healing but it carries a nice chunk of damage along with it, too. Doubled if you hit a stunned target with it. Which actually plays into another talent that reduces the cooldown of Hammer of Justice. Of course, all of my decisions will be based on levelling/soloing rather than dungeons/raiding.

I’m actually feeling really good about Retribution Paladins again.

Transmogrification seems to have been improved greatly, too. You can create outfits, unlock account wide appearances (besides Alliance/Horde specific), have a gallery of unlocked appearances, and even filter the appearances to certain types or acquisition locations. I also unlocked a couple of unique appearances in celebration of the recent film.

After I’ve become accustomed to the changes that have been made across the board (and there are many) it’ll be time to develop Moggie some more. While the primary focus will be raising Moggie to Lvl 100, there are plenty of secondary objectives and I do have other characters along with the prospect of getting my newly made Monk to Lvl 60. I’ve also got another slot available on my realm now. So I might even get that Tauren Death Knight train-a-rollin’. Never really had a Death Knight before (nor were fond of them), but I’ve got the opportunity to create one now and worry about the Demon Hunter slot if/when I get around to Legion. In any case, I hope you all have fun with this series!

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

What's your opinion?

