Old Haunts

The best places to go back to.

I’ve been thinking about the Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster. I was originally going to pick it up on my newly acquired PS Vita, however it would seem that there’s a little snag regarding the physical version you can buy. It includes Final Fantasy X-2 as a download code. Which is sort of okay as I don’t really care too much for Final Fantasy X-2, but if I’m paying for both titles I’d like to be able to play both. Of course- I could just download it. But I don’t necessarily have the free storage to download it at the moment.

Whereby it would make even less sense to pay more to expand my storage capabilities.

That said, the very same Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster is now available on Steam and that could be a better option. The entire Final Fantasy XIII trilogy is available on Steam, too. While there is a good chance that the recently announced Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age will make its way there at some point. Or (at a stretch) make its way to PS Vita.

So I could have Final Fantasy to Final Fantasy IX on my PS Vita and everything above that in my Steam library. I’m unsure as to whether Final Fantasy XV will ever come to Steam, but I’d reckon it’s likely even if we have to wait an additional couple of years to see it. Still, I’m a massive fan of the Final Fantasy series. It’s one of the reasons I became as enamoured with RPGs as I did. It’s one of the few things you’ll ever see me playing filled with childlike wonder and glee, too. The other being Chrono Trigger. Even if I’ve probably finished Chrono Trigger over thirty times (that’s not an exaggeration either). While I haven’t read/seen too much about Final Fantasy XV, I’d still love to play it just because it’s a Final Fantasy title.

A fitting name for such a beast.

A fitting name for such a beast.

While Final Fantasy XII (and above) weren’t my favourite Final Fantasy titles, I do admit they deserve a second chance. Final Fantasy XIII was an entry in the series which I didn’t really enjoy the first time out, but I definitely enjoyed it more the second time I went through the story. Mostly due to the fact that earlier in the story they restrict who you can have, what you can do with them, and how useful they are. Once you reach Gran Pulse (I think it is) you’ve finally got the freedom to build the party that you want.

Greater selection of Paradigms to choose from, too.

Which would probably be my major complaint (for lack of a better word) with later instalments. They had interesting stories, characters, combat mechanics, and so on but there was always an annoying feature. Like the constant party shuffling early in Final Fantasy XIII. Or the fact that some parts of Final Fantasy XII played out like an MMO with intense grinding.

That said, Final Fantasy XII was an entry in the series that deserved the definition of epic. It was a stunningly beautiful title with an excellent selection of music, it also had a huge and vibrant world and took many risks with and different directions in many key Final Fantasy mechanics. It’s an interesting conundrum I’m faced with for sure. It’s such an influential series (for me personally), and I’m unsure as to which would be the best way to continue to support it. Steam seems like the obvious choice for the later instalments. Especially if those later instalments are released with very little changes to the original versions of said instalments.

Have a nice week all!

Moggie

One thought on “Old Haunts

  1. Pingback: June to September 2016 – Moggie @ WordPress

What's your opinion?

