Ink Reaver

Let’s talk about materials!

Traditional artists rely on their materials quite heavily. Not just in the sense that you have to be confident in the quality of the materials themselves, but that you have to understand how they work alongside other materials. Often that would be how ink or marker or any liquid media would work with paper and board. Will it bleed? Will it leave streaks? Will it warp/cockle (with liquid media especially)? Does it have a texture and will that texture affect how pencil, ink, or any other material will look and respond? There are a lot of questions.

Often times this will also be dependant on the technique and how you apply it.

Is it not as aesthetically pleasing due to the paper? Are the nibs not sturdy enough? Or is simply that the nibs are damaged? These are some questions I’ve had about Copic Multiliners. I’ve also had some bad experiences with them recently, as I tried to replace a nib and ink cartridge and it didn’t really go too well. Firstly, one of the replacement nibs didn’t even have a nib in the casing. Secondly, the second replacement nib wouldn’t go into the ink reservoir properly. The ink cartridge worked just fine, though. Still, this was a point of concern for me as one of the reasons I favoured Copic Multiliners was that I could essentially rebuild the pen rather than buy a new one.

Not that I’m saying one bad experience is enough for me to never use them again, as I already have a fair bit of money invested in them. What with the fact I bought four individually, I have multiple spare parts, and I’ve used them for a good six years and so have the experience as well. That said, I have decided to try the Mitsubishi Uni Pin fine liners.

I've wanted to try this particular style for a while.

I’ve wanted to try this particular style for a while.

I’ve heard good things about them from other artists. They’re also quite cost effective despite the fact that I don’t believe you can refill them/replace the nibs. You can pick up a five pack of pens at a further discount as well, which is particularly good as those five almost mirror the choices I made with Copic Multiliners. Trading a brush nib for a 0.8 nib. Which is perfectly fine as I don’t really like brush nibs all that much. It’s worth giving them a shot even if I don’t continue to use them in the long term.

I’d always recommend that artists try new materials every now and then.

I spent many years using Faber Castell Pitt Pens (something in the region of six-seven years) and they dictated my experience with ink pieces. I wasn’t as concerned with such intricate detailing at that particular time, but now that I have leaned towards that quite heavily the Copic Multiliners were a great choice. Especially considering the 0.1 and 0.03 pens provided the ability to add detail I didn’t previously think I could achieve. This may be a continuation of that cycle of learning more and understanding more about where this whole thing is going. It could also be a temporary reinforcement that the Copic Multiliners are still the best choice. That said, I did want to start a piece to give them a fair chance.

This piece (once finished) will also replace another that is already on my personal site. It may span two sections eventually as I am thinking about throwing some digital paint on it, using a style reminiscent of the one we saw with Draenei Paladin. But that really depends on whether I feel it is worth while at that point in time.

Have a nice weekend, all!

Moggie

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

Darkest Dungeon, the Caretaker, Swinetaurs, Swine Reavers, and all associated trademarks and devices are owned by Red Hook.

One thought on “Ink Reaver

  1. Pingback: March to June 2016 – Moggie @ WordPress

What's your opinion?

