Draenei Paladin – 2016 – Digital – click for full view on site!

Here’s something you don’t see every day.

Draenei Paladins are a weird bunch. How do they fit those hooves into sabatons? How do they wear conventional trousers? Why are they so tall? Why do the male models have disproportionate shoulder armour placement? Why do they (and Pandaren) get mysterious tail holes in their armour? There are so many unanswered questions surrounding our Burning Crusade brothers.

There was apparently an amount of controversy surrounding them when they were first introduced, too. I wasn’t aware of that. But, as the wiki says, there were people who considered them to not fit the overall fantasy theme as they were (believed to be) from space. Hence, the space goats moniker they adopted. However, I always got the impression they were well liked in the community. So maybe that was like every other controversy and fizzled out in time? Still, while my Draenei is a Priest, Draenei Paladins do hold a sort of significance for me.

Moggie wouldn’t be what he is without them.

Originally I’d played a lot of Horde over on Terenas but I felt it was time for a change. That change came in the form of a freshly rolled, tall, tentacled Draenei Paladin alt who was a lot of fun to play. Complex, too. Or, at least, back then they were. When I decided to make the switch to Kul Tiras I rolled Moggie and (thanks to that Paladin) he saw the Light. It’s funny in hindsight. When you look back on the things that inspired later decisions, they often seem insignificant at the time. Yet the repercussions are usually felt for some time to come afterwards. I would have actually rolled Moggie as a Draenei if not for the fact that the shoulder armour floats on the upper arm. Or, at least, it did. It may not now.

Draenei Paladin – 2016 – DigitalThis piece was originally intended to follow in line with other ink pieces I’ve done recently. However, after tinkering with a work in progress scan, I decided I would maybe throw a little digital paint on it instead. I was also considering changing the shoulders for a brief period of time. (They’re based on the Paladin raid tier Lightsworn Shoulderguards.)

There were a lot of questions surrounding the style, too. I opted for three colours as opposed to the two I used in the test. I also worked with the full sized original scan for the final piece, which allowed me to employ the use of fine detail. Colours were mostly chosen from a selection of less than ten and everything was brought together to look similar. The Lightsworn Shoulderguards are not that shiny (or their model isn’t), but I thought it looked nice and worked with the style.

I’ve had a lot of fun working on this one.

I also feel like I’m coming closer to deciding on what my default choice of materials will be for new pieces. I feel like ink is a good way to go. I was originally thinking watercolour for all things gorgeous and colourful, but digital painting might be overtaking that. Oddly enough, pencil is falling quite far down the ranks of the default choice. Though, to be honest, using the 0.1 Copic Multiliner, I’m able to add so much detail to the piece that it’s kind of the obvious choice. Given how much I love detailing. In any case, we may (or may not) see another piece like this in the future. However, I think it’s a rather fitting addition to the site which feels very much like World of Warcraft should.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

World of Warcraft, Draenei, Space Goat Paladins, The Light and How to Swing It, and all associated trademarks and devices are owned by Blizzard Entertainment.

3 thoughts on “Draenei Paladin – 2016 – Digital – click for full view on site!

  1. Pingback: Ink Reaver – Moggie @ WordPress

  2. Pingback: March to June 2016 – Moggie @ WordPress

  3. Pingback: Ten Year Anniversary – Moggie @ WordPress

What's your opinion?

