Painting Pencil

This here’s my painting pencil.

I suppose it’s technically possible to paint with a pencil if you’re using watercolour pencils. Though, you could still argue it’s the brush and the application of water doing the painting- not the pencil. But we’re not here to talk about technicalities. I’ve been thinking about digital art since How You’ve Grown and I’m still confused about where this is all going.

I’m not convinced I’ll ever be able to get my head around doing full digital pieces from scratch.

Well, no, I’m sure I could learn- but I don’t know if it would be worth it. I like each different material to bring a different result to the table. Pencil is universally versatile, ink has contrast, marker has vibrant colour, watercolour has exceptional colour blending, and so on. Where does digital painting fall into this eclectic mix? Good question. So far I have no definite answers. But I have been playing around with an older pencil sketch and I’ve brought some colourful life to it. Which, with the considerations above, is actually a pretty good way to incorporate digital painting into the mix by providing something that I can’t get anywhere else. Mostly due to the varieties of paper I use for pencil work.

The paper itself is fine. It’s excellent, in fact. But, it does have one weakness- despite being heavy it’s not heavy enough to accept liquid media. Marker would bleed. Watercolour would cockle the paper. Ink would accept but wouldn’t be of the highest quality thanks to the tooth/grain of the paper. This opens up a future possibility to use digital painting to enhance pencil sketches and create something that has a very unique feel. It’s certainly nothing like what I’m doing otherwise.

Forever a work in progress. Forever changing the background colour.

Forever a work in progress. Forever changing the background colour.

That said, like every experiment, it hasn’t gone entirely as smoothly as I would have initially hoped. It’s coming along. It’s coming along well. But it’s still a foreign concept to me, and one that requires a lot more investment than I’d initially figured it would. Which is not entirely a bad thing, either.

Pushing yourself outside of your comfort zone is never a bad idea if you want to improve.

It’s been a pretty odd start to the year in that respect. I wasn’t expecting to have a surge of creative work this early, nor was I expecting to come from something I’d barely had any experience using. But here we are. I’ve been going through odd emotional states, too. Almost as if I’ve remembered something that I’d never really forgotten but has been dormant for a while. I’ve got a fair few ideas in mind. Which is a surprise. It’s been a while since I’ve been able to say I’ve had a flood of enthusiasm about my creative efforts. I’ve even been thinking about starting a new project in Unity and trying to push out a finished product. Or, at the very least, a working demo that you could play for a short while.

I’ve been itching to get back to traditional art, though. It’s where I’m comfortable. That said, even there, I’m exploring new ideas that are pushing my various styles/techniques further. It’s quite an interesting time for me. However, such as I’ve come to expect, it’s not without a number of hiccups along the way. Personal issues and concerns plaguing an otherwise good time. But that’s probably the reason I’ve become as enthusiastic about everything as I have. Seems to be an ongoing trend of mine.

Have a nice weekend, all!

Moggie

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

Fallout, Super Mutants, and all associated trademarks and devices are owned by Interplay and Bethesda.

4 thoughts on “Painting Pencil

  1. Pingback: Archive of Experiences – Moggie @ WordPress

  2. Pingback: March to June 2016 – Moggie @ WordPress

  3. Pingback: Fluffy Chops – Moggie @ WordPress

  4. Pingback: Ten Year Anniversary – Moggie @ WordPress

What's your opinion?

