Duriel – 2016 – Ink – click for full view on site!

“Looking for Baal?” -Duriel

Nope. Not me. That’s that other Barbarian that looks exactly like me, is also currently in Lut Gholein, and is on the same quest to stop the Dark Wanderer. I’ll go get him for you. Duriel has always been one of those iconic Diablo II bosses, what with his capability to reduce anyone into a fine mulch with those devastating attacks of his. However, to be fair, I’ve never had too much problem with him as either a Barbarian or a Paladin. Even as a Sorceress I’m mostly fine if I don’t stray too far from him. As his charge attack seems to be the most damaging in his arsenal.

This also counts as the last post of March, which, as the most recent post stated, was incredibly unlikely but it’s here all the same. That said, this was a rather spontaneous piece that almost came together in less than a twenty four hour timespan. It’s also something that I tried a completely different technique with. So, nothing really went according to any sort of plan.

However, there is a good reason why I decided to use this technique and not my usual one.

First and foremost to retain as much detail in the piece as I could. I find that when I blanket shadows and use flat shading I tend to lose detail, or definition, or form as I continue to layer the ink onto the piece. This approach (nearly) replicates a pencil hatching technique. It was also done entirely with my 0.1 Copic Multiliner. So, to say my hand hurt afterwards was an understatement. But I did choose that particular pen specifically. I find that, while useful, the 0.3 is a little too large for fine details, hence the acquisition of the 0.1 in the first place. I’ve never attempted to do an entire piece with just that pen before. Which was reason enough to give it a shot with this particular piece.

Duriel – 2016 – InkI’m quite happy with the result, though. There are certain areas which could be improved if I approach another piece with the same technique. But, for the most part, I can’t argue with the results (nor would I want to as he’s liable to maim me if I argue with him). There are a lot of little details and deviations from my standard technique(s), too. While, yes, it’s an entirely new technique- it still inherits a lot from other techniques/styles I have. As they all do. Mostly because the pencil sketching technique/style is the first part of every piece.

That particular element rarely changes besides switching from a B to a HB or vice versa. Which, in itself, doesn’t really make too much of a difference but does help with heavier papers. Especially when it’s going to be inked later, and lighter pencil lines are going to be better swallowed up by the ink. Which hopefully illustrates (pun intended) the process behind each piece.

There are several variables which are constantly changing to achieve the desired result.

Which is one of the reasons I enjoy experimenting as much as I do. It’s quite interesting seeing how a piece can change dramatically, in either presentation, or composition, when you change a few elements around. As we can see with this piece. The hatching style definitely brings more detail to the table and makes it a more interesting style, which doesn’t sacrifice as much detail or depth to achieve it. It’s also interesting to see how the level of detail heightens dramatically by using a much finer pen. While an obvious change- it’s one that you don’t really understand the effects of until you see it.

Have a nice weekend, all!

Moggie

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

Diablo II, Duriel, the Horadric Cube, Barbarians, and all associated trademarks and devices are owned by Blizzard Entertainment.

2 thoughts on “Duriel – 2016 – Ink – click for full view on site!

  1. Pingback: One Horn Bill (Ink) – 2016 – Ink – click for full view on site! – Moggie @ WordPress

  2. Pingback: March to June 2016 – Moggie @ WordPress

What's your opinion?

