How You’ve Grown – 2016 – Digital – click for full view on site!

So many meanings. So much time.

Ever have those pieces that seem to never end? No matter how many times you come back to them, no matter how many hours you work on them, no matter how much you’d like to fool yourself into believing they’re done- they’re not done. They might never be done. You can’t even tell at this point. Such are the feelings I had about this piece when I sat down to work on it as it neared completion. Now, don’t get me wrong- I’ve enjoyed working on this piece- but will it ever end?

This is entirely my fault, though.

I shouldn’t have taken such an open ended approach to how the composition developed. I also could have picked a material I had any idea of how to use. Might have helped. Still, here we are at the finish line and I’m ready to view this piece for what it is. A pain in my ass. I kid. Or do I? You’ll never know!

Regardless, it’s a great addition to the site and has helped me understand so much more about digital art than I did previously. Even if I did approach it with traditional techniques and completely shunned making a new style. Well, for the most part. The style is certainly unique compared to what I’ve done previously. Not entirely sure if I’ll ever use it again- but it’s there. This piece has also been an exercise in spamming my Twitter followers with WIP Tweets. Over, and over, and over, and over, and over, and over again. I’m sure they loved it, though. I also apologise for dragging my feet in completing this particular piece. I’ve not been feeling well recently. I have been trying to put in the hours where I can, though.

How You've Grown - 2016 - DigitalHad an interesting time bringing this piece together, too. Played around with the composition quite a bit, cropped it differently, added some elements, took some out, and tried to balance out a decent result that wasn’t too large (or too small). It’s quite odd how difficult it is to achieve the same results with digital as I do with traditional, probably due to not having the natural textures of both the paper and materials I’m using. I do try to avoid the vanilla Adobe Photoshop CS2 brushes where I can.

I’d like it to have a little texture.

I also put a lot of emphasis on the composition as I have a lot more opportunity to add, remove, and rearrange elements with digital art than I do in any kind of traditional art. It’s a learning experience in many different ways. That said, I feel the final result could have worked out a little better.

On the other hand, it’s not really surprising that it worked out how it did. Given that this is the first full digital piece I’ve done in a while (if ever). I’ve had quite a few ideas of what I’d like to attempt next with digital art, not to mention with the working dark to light technique. That could be pretty cool with several things. Well, no, it would only really work with acrylic. Still, I hope you enjoy this piece (even if just a little) as that’s what I do this for. Otherwise I’d spend the hours hunched over a Wacom Bamboo tablet, illuminated by the light from my monitor, drinking nothing but coffee, and share the end result with no-one.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

2 thoughts on “How You’ve Grown – 2016 – Digital – click for full view on site!

  1. Pingback: January to March 2016 – Moggie @ WordPress

  2. Pingback: Painting Pencil – Moggie @ WordPress

What's your opinion?

