Not Mushroom Inside – 2016 – Pencil – click for full view on site!

Who ever lives here must be a pretty fun guy. (I promise I’ll stop.)

An interesting choice for one of the first pieces of 2016 but one that brings back a few memories. I’ve not done much landscape/scenic work since early 2009 and I have only one piece on the site at the moment (Lost in Time), but it’s something I’m very keen to get back to. However, as with most other subject matter, it’s a combination of feeling like the particular material and style fit the intended result for the piece. I’ve started to lean closer towards pencil simply due to this (fairly) new paper which gives (most of) the results I want.

I’m also happy I could work a silly pun into the title of this piece.

Originally inspired by the fantasy elements of titles like The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind or the locations like Zangarmarsh (World of Warcraft), this is also fuelled by a personal fondness for mushrooms and close attention to detail. I’ve always felt that landscape/scenic pieces are especially good for telling a story with how you arrange/display the elements within the piece. Housing, burrows, rocks, fauna- everything adds to the atmosphere- and allows you to give a very different feeling with different arrangements. This is a smaller, more conceptual, narrower piece but I like to think of how I could translate these elements to a broader and more expansive piece.

I’ve had a few ideas of how I can apply heavy detail to certain elements while breaking into blended shading in others. Through this piece I can now see this is entirely possible. But it does need some refinement. So in the next piece that follows this idea I’ll be trying to improve, experiment further, and generally push what I do to get the best possible result.

Not Mushroom Inside - 2016 - PencilIt’s oddly ironic that I chose to do the updates to the collection of sites at the same time as I started this piece. Mostly because, as I’ve gone back over those pieces, I’ve seen all the different ideas I’ve used in the past. Some I’d forgotten were even on the site. Some that actually awakened some feelings in me that were mostly dormant up to that point. I don’t know, it’s an odd feeling to say that working through my own work has taught me something new. Considering most of these pieces fall between 2008-2013 where I was still shifting heavily from piece to piece.

I’m happy about it, though.

Nice to see that it is illustrating (pun perhaps intended) the progression of my work. While this piece will slot itself in nicely and show how I’ve changed in composition, style, technique, approach, and use of materials between here and Lost in Time. I just wish there were more forms of comparison. But we can’t have everything. Still, I think this is a pretty good start to 2016 and one that I hope will continue in the coming weeks and months. I’ve had a few ideas as a result of those updates that I’d like to try (or at least start) in the next week or two. As always, information relating to those ideas/pieces will be coming through Moggie @ WordPress where appropriate.

I’d say this one leans heavier on the side of fantasy than not. You can draw your own conclusions about who lives here (or if anyone lives here), if it’s tiny, if it’s huge, if it’s for a particular species (which would probably relate to size), or you can just enjoy the fact it’s a giant mushroom which is also a house. Don’t you wish you lived in a mushroom?

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

One thought on “Not Mushroom Inside – 2016 – Pencil – click for full view on site!

  1. Pingback: January to March 2016 – Moggie @ WordPress

What's your opinion?

