Brahmin – 2015 – Watercolour – click for full view on site!

I’ve always wondered if having two heads (and therefore two brains) ever confused the poor ol’ Brahmin.

In a lot of fictional universes they depict creatures with multiple heads having a singular (often unintelligent) brain- but I like to think Brahmin have two. I also like to think it’s similar to those times you walk into a room, instantly forget why you went into that room, and then walk out again. One brain says one thing and the other says another. Maybe that’s why they’re so docile. They couldn’t be angry even if they wanted to!

But, yes, we’re not here to discuss the intellectual properties of the post apocalyptic pack animal.

It does pose a few questions as to why milk is so scarce in the Wastelands, too. Given they have readily accessible milk factories just wandering around. That said, I do believe their udders are horribly malformed (and likely filled with pus) so that’s probably why. Back to the piece! I haven’t had too much experience with watercolour in a (literal) couple of years. It’s something I really enjoy working with but has fallen a little to the wayside (as did most things not done with a pencil) for a spell.

I don’t think the time away from that particular set of methods/techniques has hurt, though. In fact, looking at the piece, and how clean/crisp the lines are, I’m starting to think it was a good semi-hiatus to have had. I suppose that’s also an indicator that my technique has improved in general, too.

Brahmin - 2015 - WatercolourStill leaning heavily on the ink and watercolour style I developed early in 2011 and I don’t think that’s going to change any time soon. I like the combination, and, given how my technique has improved overall, I feel it can only get better. More attention to smaller details and all that. This is also the first time I’ve used the heavier, more expensive, and better quality watercolour paper I bought a while back. I’ve also accrued a little more experience with my newer, better quality, and (once again) more expensive brushes. To be honest, I put a lot of money into watercolour (and painting as a whole) a while back.

While I wouldn’t say this piece breaks significantly new ground- it’s nice to see how it turned out.

It’s nice to see that there’s a small level of improvement in technique, approach, and control. I’m still not sure if I want to follow along a heavy wet on wet technique (as I used to) or whether I want to approach it more as you would approach illustrator ink. In either case, I count this a success and it does make me a little more optimistic for the future of watercolour.

As a sort of side effect to the new piece, reviewing the sites, and generally working towards better quality content I might be cleaning up the previously uploaded pieces on the site. Nothing major like completely new scans, crops, or what have you- just cleaning up the images to make them look as good as they possibly can. It’s a fairly long campaign to embark on and one that definitely will happen over the course of months (and depends on whether every piece needs it). So that’s something to look forward to!

Have a nice weekend, all!

Moggie

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

Brahmin, Gary, Vault-Tec, PipBoys, and all associated trademarks and devices are owned by Interplay/Bethesda.

What's your opinion?

