Massively Multiplayer Online Moggie

It’s kind of funny to think back to when I first started playing Guild Wars.

Y’see, back then, while co-op and online multiplayer existed, it certainly didn’t exist in quite the same way. You couldn’t log into a video game and suddenly be met with hundreds of other players who were real people just like you. Most of the time when met with hundreds of players in video games they were NPCs or server spawned entities. So the idea that, simultaneously and in real time, other players were in the game with you was an odd concept. Of course, as time has progressed, and technology has advanced, this is a pretty standard thing nowadays.

I’m still amazed by that progression in technology, though.

Even though MMOs are far more common these days and you have millions of people playing them- the base technological advancements that made them possible are still fascinating. To think, in my lifetime alone, we’ve gone from sprites on cartridges to full 3D models delivered through digital channels. It’s crazy. Kind of makes you wonder where it’ll go next.

It also makes me sound a lot older than I actually am. But, back on point, Guild Wars was an experience as I didn’t really know what I was getting myself into at the time. I didn’t think that I’d be actively working with other people, helping other people, and completing objectives with other people. Having played a number of single player titles up until that point I was only slightly used to cooperative play. These experiences led onto the years to come when I would take on World of Warcraft, Final Fantasy XIV, Star Wars: The Old Republic, and Guild Wars 2.

I’m certainly more used to MMOs these days. Many single player titles have taken inspiration and inherited mechanics from MMOs (mostly around crafting systems), while they’re more abundant than they were, and there are more for different universes. Many major titles or series end up trying the MMO market once or twice in their time too. Final Fantasy has put out two now and I don’t think XIV will be their last, either. Equally some titles (like Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning) were apparently built as MMOs originally and then converted to single player. That and the fact that most single player titles feature either full campaign multiplayer, arena style multiplayer, or mission based multiplayer as well.

However, the reason I’m putting out this post is to inform you all of what’s happening next with the two MMO related series on Moggie @ WordPress. The first, SW:TOR The Jal’Frezi Legacy, will likely be on hold for some time to come as I don’t know when I’m next going to pick it up. I fully intend to go back to it, but when I do, and if I start posting about it immediately, are open to interpretation. Guild Wars 2: Tyrian Travels while far from over is slowing down with many of the characters moving into straight levelling.

We’re ahead of the curve a little on crafting disciplines now so I can afford to make equipment for my characters, to spend less time farming materials, and to spend more time moving towards whatever goals I have in store for them. In either case they’re not over and they will return- I just don’t know/can’t say when that will be.

As always, I try to balance the content I put out so there’s a little of something for everyone. I also try not to sit on topics for too long (they might melt).

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

What's your opinion?

