Guild Wars 2: Tyrian Travels (Pt. 8)

“Now you see me, now you don’t- now you’re on fire.” -Kairn

While we’ve spoken at length about the current state of (and future plans for) the guild, the locations I’ve searched for while levelling, the character professions I’ve chosen, and many other things while on these most humble Tyrian Travels there’s one thing missing- the characters themselves. So, let’s get to know the various builds I’ve chosen for the characters who have been making the push to Lvl 40 (and beyond) where they will be starting their personal story chapters soon.

Kairn (the Mesmer) uses a scepter and torch to provide mid-long range offence, which, with the Illusions traits, allows for chain shattering to blanket foes with AoE condition damage. His affixes afford him greater health and toughness allowing him to switch to a sword and trade blows toe to toe. Likewise, Auri (the Guardian) uses a staff for decent AoE damage and pairs this with her Virtues to cause severe burning damage. However, she also has bonuses to healing power and her buffing capabilities allowing her to fill a support role. Gaen (the Ranger) pairs a longbow with pet related skills to allow them to fight as one, taking slight advantage of condition damage, but going straight damage mostly with increased power and precision.

Daxi (the Elementalist) has shuffled her weapons around a lot. However, I finally settled on a combination of Earth and Water with a scepter and dagger. She also employs two different elementals along with a whole heaping of buffing capability. Kaendar (the Warrior) employs a mixture of close-long range brute force. His hammer skills allow for control of opponents, and, with the Defense traits, he becomes even tougher and harder to kill. Likewise his second set rifle gives him the ability to snipe enemies from a distance. Both are built for straight damage output.

"This far, no further."

“This far, no further.”

The above builds only apply to the five core character slots so far.

I’m still in the process of levelling the Necromancer and figuring out what I want from that profession. The Thief falls somewhere between the five core characters and the Necromancer, in that, I know what I want from her, but I need to spend a little longer with the profession building that same confidence and rhythm the others have. Still, not bad so far.

Other major developments include the Chef crafting discipline reaching its maximum level recently. Now I can cook anything I want! If only I knew what I wanted to cook. Then again, upon reaching 400, a lot of recipes still exist but they’re all for you to discover by bringing together maximum level crafting ingredients. While the other crafting disciplines all fall between 250-375 with the Jeweler nearly at maximum level as well. Most of these recipes (and the ingredients required) are now Lvl 60 which sets up nicely for the next levelling runs.

Kairn reached Lvl 80 recently, too.

Equally, I’m nearly done with his personal story. However, for the time being, I am going to hold off until I can either make or buy a full Lvl 80 set of armour and weapons as I think going in to the final chapter with my current gear would be a mistake. Not a little one, either. But that’s a pretty big development as I can finally farm any material found in levelling zones now. Which is going to be incredibly beneficial to levelling the remainder of the crafting disciplines to 400, as, to be honest, I think 400 is a good stopping point as I’m pretty sure after that there’s only ascended recipes.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

What's your opinion?

