Guild Wars 2: Tyrian Travels (Pt. 2)

I would trade my left leg for a stack of Jute Scraps right about now.

Crafting systems- you’ve got to love them, right? Maybe not. I know a few people that can’t stand the process of gathering materials, crafting with them, and then breaking them down only to craft with them again. Which is why I’d like to say that I’ve always loved the Salvage Kits in Guild Wars. It makes all the equipment you might find in your travels, regardless of whether you can equip it, or whether it has the bonuses you want, useful to you in some way. If you can’t find a use for it- break it down. If you already have something better- break it down.

If you’re wandering through Lion’s Arch and someone lays down a slick beat- break it down.

I’m actually really enjoying the crafting disciplines so far, though. With the exception of the insane shortage of Jute Scraps (which is awful for two out of the four crafting disciplines I have). Gathering things like ore or wood is quite easy- and doesn’t require a crafting discipline (like mining) to do- so it doesn’t take me too far out of my way but I can make neat gear in the process.

I’m pretty sure I must have collected 400+ ore and wood so far. Not to mention oodles of ingredients for the Chef discipline, too. The only thing that is missing is Jute Scraps- even after spending a good hour farming up the various bags the drop from. I got something ridiculous like 6-8 out of something like 50 bags. It hits hardest for Tailor, though. I can sort of make ends meet with Armorsmith by using the excess resources to craft more components. Weaponsmith is coming along great, though. Mostly as that requires ore and wood which I have in abundance. Likewise, Chef is currently my highest at 225+ (just need some Sesame Seeds and we’ll be good).

"Ghosts! Ghosts everywhere!"

“Ghosts! Ghosts everywhere!”

Tailoring is kind of dead in the water until I can find some, however. Funniest part about it is- I have a ton of Wool Scraps and other materials.

So once I can reach 75+ Tailor I’ll be okay. It’s also quite odd, and/or possibly a bug/glitch, how I harvest low level cloth armour and seem to get Wool Scraps rather than Jute Scraps. Got a stock of materials for the Artificer and Jeweler disciplines, though. Thankfully there’s only one more discipline (that I know of) that requires Jute Scraps. So that’s something at least.

I’m enjoying the ability to advance levels purely through gathering resources and crafting items, however. It has allowed me to continue to level and develop my Mesmer without wasting hours farming items, travelling to places, and doing various events for the Karma rewards with no actual benefit to his progress. I also get to explore a lot of new areas. I’m rather leaning towards pushing my Guardian up six more levels (to around Lvl 47) and exploring some of the higher level locales. Should be fun and totally not deadly in any way, right?

I’ve also got a burning desire to see the Iron Marches. I’ve got a feeling that some of the locations I visited in the first Guild Wars are nested there.

Like Piken Square. I’m pretty sure it should be there as Grendich Courthouse was west of it, and that is in the neighbouring zone, so I can only imagine it’s out there somewhere. Fond memories of that place. Spent a great deal of time there (as many likely did) after the Searing and it would be nice to revisit.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

What's your opinion?

