Scribbled Truth

When is a pencil not a pencil?

When it’s a tiny stub that you can no longer produce anything with. At that point it is relegated to the box of fallen soldiers where it will sit, collecting dust, amongst its brothers and sisters. Bs and HBs alike, 2Bs and 7Bs rubbing shoulders- in death there are no classifications of wealth or status. You’re all equal. You’re all stubby shame sticks. Unless you have a pencil extender (which I do) whereby you can force them to work into an even tinier stub. This existential commentary was brought to you by Moggie.

It’s a well known fact if you regularly visit Moggie @ WordPress that I like to put pencils up my nose and sneeze these strange scribbles onto paper.

Darkspawn warm up sketches.

Darkspawn warm up sketches.

It’s also a well known fact that I wanted to get back into it this year with a bit more consistency. I can’t say that I’m the most consistent artist at the best of times, let alone the worst of times- but I do try. Recently a lot of the problems have been following a great deal of confusion about where I want to go with all of this. I think I’m at a solid point to start refining my style and just improving the quality opposed to the technique. Of course, I still have much more to learn in regards to my technique but I’m happy with where it is for now.

What I need now is something to show that it’s all working as I would like it to. Subject matter is a pretty big obstacle at the moment. But then so is composition and whether I would like to continue producing similar work, branch out to something new, or just do whatever comes to mind at the time.

I also need to get back into using watercolour, ink, marker, and other neat things like that more often.

Oddly enough that diversification is a problem in itself. As if I were to only focus on pencil and not branch out to all these other materials I’d be able to focus better, but, that said, I enjoy using all the different materials as I genuinely feel some are better for one type of work than another. Not to say that they all couldn’t be used for the same kind of work- as they could- but I like playing their individual strengths and creating interesting pieces. Of late, however, I haven’t had many ideas that actually fit a particular material any better than any other.

"Don't feed the Yao Guai. That is all."

“Don’t feed the Yao Guai. That is all.”

In any case, I didn’t want to do another post talking about art without providing some visual evidence. I understand how frustrating it must be to read about all of these things without having any work, whether it be sketches, or finished pieces, to solidify exactly what I’m saying. (Twitter is a great place to find me if you want to see various WIP photos, too.)

I am feeling better about the topic as a whole, however. That’s something I will say. I’ve always been conflicted about my artistic notions but recently I’ve felt more motivated about it, I’m following some artists on Twitter, I’m engaging with other independent artists, and I’m trying to really make a good push forward. It’s also great to follow other artists as there are some seriously diverse, passionate, and hard working people out there. I can’t say where it’s all going to end up but I hope you stick around to find out.

I really enjoy WordPress as a platform and I’ve met some great people here, too.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

Darkspawn, the Chantry, Blackwall, and all associated trademarks and devices are owned by Bioware.
Deathclaws, Three Dog, Yao Guai, and all associated trademarks and devices are owned by Interplay and Bethesda Softworks.

What's your opinion?

