SW:TOR The Jal’frezi Legacy (Return to the Republic)

It’s your sister from another mother (and server).

Every so often I get an itch that doesn’t go away. I’ve wondered if this might be some kind of skin condition, yeast infection, or other bodily malfunction but in reality it’s more than likely that I want to play an MMO. Is it normal for your body to itch when you want to game? No? Well, that just makes me all kinds of special.

Star Wars: The Old Republic is one of those games that I find myself wanting to go back to several times a month. Ironically, that’s the reason I actually stopped subscribing to most MMOs that I played- I didn’t play them enough to warrant the cost. Not in the sense that I wasn’t getting enough hours a week out of the subscription or anything like that… more that I would play for a few weeks and then take a few off and then play for a few more. In the three-four years I played World of Warcraft there were at least six months where I wasn’t actually subscribed. It’s just the way I play games, to be honest. I’ll play something for a good chunk of time and then not come back to it for a while.

Bit like Dragonball XenoVerse. Played it, finished the Time Patrol, finished the Parallel Quests, invested 40hrs, and now setting it down for a bit.

Mercy is more than you deserve.

Mercy is more than you deserve.

That’s why something like the free to play model that Star Wars: The Old Republic uses is actually pretty useful. As I can pick a new server and roll a new character to just play through the content, enjoy the adventures, and just have fun with the game without subscribing again. If I decide I’m really into it I might subscribe for a month or two, but, at the moment, it’s just a temporary return. I always enjoyed the Jedi Consular as a class and I’ll get to see the Jedi Sage side of it now. I wouldn’t free to play with my characters under the Jal’frezi Legacy, though.

There are a few things (like less experience/rewards from questing) that would bug me if I did subscribe and these characters permanently missed those things. Not to say I’m not willing to pay for it- far from it- I actually fully intend to subscribe again. At some point where I feel I will be playing it for more than a week and a bit at a time.

Having an absolute blast, though. Rolled on an RP server and I’ve not really done any roleplaying (nor intend to) but it’s a nice little server. Not too many pressures for doing instances or group missions and the folks seem friendly enough. Quite a quiet place, too. You don’t generally see many people spawning on Tython (while it is a starting area you do have to come back sometimes) and you’re generally allowed to quest at your own pace. Which is nice. Guilds are a bit sparse overall. But then I never really looked at guilds on my main server too often to be honest.

I also enjoy going back and levelling new characters after a while. That was one thing about World of Warcraft when I stopped playing- I didn’t have any fresh meat to train. Unless I wanted to roll a Pandaren Monk and choose to either have another Horde or Alliance character. So, it’s definitely a finite experience and will eventually reach an end. One day.

In any case, just a little update to say that the Jal’frezi Legacy is not completely dead.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

What's your opinion?

