It’s the Little Things

Though I would argue that the sun being in the sky and it being ridiculously hot is not a little thing.

In fact, for most people who live anywhere in England it is quite a big thing. Then again we do complain about just about every form of weather as a population. When it rains we’re not happy, when it snows we’re not happy, when it’s sunny we’re not happy. Well, I’m happy when it’s snowy or rainy or generally wintery. In winter you can always put more on but in summer there’s a limit to how much you can take off. Once naked you can’t get any more naked after all!

That said, as I know people from all around the world, our weather is actually quite mild and respectable.

All of that taken into account- what are we here for today? Well, that’s a good question. Do I have a good answer? Maybe. I figured I’d do something a little different and just talk about what came to mind. We had a post not too long ago about the Steam Summer Sale (which is always a fun time of year) and that seems like as good a starting point as any.

There wasn’t much I was looking at prior to the sale. There were some good discounts on Sacred 2 (at a nice 50% off), there were some good discounts on the Doom franchise (at a nice 50% off), there were some relatively good discounts on Hero Siege (between 25-75% off), and there were plenty of other titles popping up from time to time. Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel, Lords of the Fallen, Dragonball XenoVerse etc. That said, there weren’t that many purchases I’d actually considered making as I only kind of wanted most of these.

The exception to this was Dragonball XenoVerse which is a title I’ve had my eye on for a while.

It goes back to many years ago when I used to watch Dragonball Z and generally I was fascinated by Akira Toriyama’s work. He was an interesting guy and created a good few of the universes and series I’ve enjoyed over the years. Primarily, way back when, Chrono Trigger. Which to this day is still a favourite game of mine. But, you know, I also think the production values in Dragonball XenoVerse were pretty awesome. It feels like something straight out of Dragonball Z and it plays very much as you would expect. It feels very good to play through the various battles and the story is actually quite different. It’s a solid experience. There’s also a ton of RPG elements in there, too. It’s a typical Toriyama RPG in my opinion.

It’s not a purchase I regret making, either. I’ve enjoyed the content so far and I have quite a few Parallel Quests left to go, races to explore, skills to unlock, and so on.

One thing I wasn’t keeping an eye on, nor any interest in, is Batman: Arkham Knight. Which seems to have had a troubled launch thus far. To the point, much to my surprise, that it is currently withdrawn from sale on Steam until further notice. While I do enjoy the Batman: Arkham franchise and I think it’s well made I do find it is quite repetitive. In the way that you will find yourself in the same situations repeatedly, doing the same things, and using the current gimmick to solve them. That said, I did have a lot of fun with the ones I have played so I’m not complaining by any stretch of the imagination.

Have a nice weekend, all!

Moggie

What's your opinion?

