Developing with Unity (Pt. 9)

The problem with choosing how to develop the next features is choosing how to develop the next features.

While there has been a drought unequalled regarding the development of any of my projects in Unity that doesn’t mean there aren’t things you haven’t already seen. Such as the early development screenshots from the transition to Unity 5. As I’m sure I said previously, the transition wasn’t that bad as it was mostly on the editor side of things that everything went a bit awry. The code, which was the bulk of the project, was pretty much functional from the moment the new version loaded.

That said, there hasn’t been that many developments since then for a good few reasons.

The recently updated Adventurer's Camp.

The recently updated Adventurer’s Camp.

One of which is that I’m still questioning how I want to approach the development. Such as- do I keep the party or have it a one person thing? Many of the newer RPGs don’t feature parties and those that do are usually, in the case of Dragon Age: Inquisition, or Final Fantasy XIII, heavily reliant on tactical AI to get the others to do anything. As in, the days of things like Final Fantasy VI where you had a four person party that you could control each turn are long gone. Mostly. But it’s something I like- so I’d love to do it if I could.

The next set of issues lies with the skills. I don’t know how I want to do those- skill tree or no? Multiple levels or no? Upgrades or no? Who knows? I don’t! If I did I wouldn’t be having these many problems. But, the skills are also a big and expansive part of the project so they take a good long while to update/change around. Which is a lot of time wasted if done in error.

The information screen (where you can learn about the game world).

The information screen (where you can learn about the game world).

The character screen (complete with party members, skills, functional inventories, and functional equipment).

The character screen (complete with party members, skills, functional inventories, and functional equipment).

Finally, the last set of issues, of sorts, lie with the assets. As I’m not that great at 3D modelling and probably could never learn how to do it in a reasonable time frame (if at all) there’s little to no chance of providing my own assets to use. Though I have found some great free Unity-provided assets and I do have some great general fantasy assets in mind- there are no concrete choices yet. I’d like to get some, I’d like to get some others, I’d like to really get some of them… but there are so many choices. Many are required, though. Which opens up another can of worms- the integration of each set of assets together to create something that doesn’t feel stitched together.

Still I hope you enjoy the new development screenshots.

The Expertise screen (with categories for the different resources you can gather).

The Expertise screen (with categories for the different resources you can gather).

Truth is, I’d have done a video but this version of the game just isn’t ready for a video yet. Having switched back to first person, from third person, and using a new first person controller at that, basically means I need to figure out how to pause the character motor in menus. Otherwise you’d get sea sick trying to watch me navigate the menu system.

All of the above taken into account, if I could get a functional battle system, and actually build a new area, this would be playable. Funny how that works. Where the project is going from here, when it will be finished, if it will be finished, and many other questions will lie unanswered for a while to come. But, I will, as I do, remember how the whole C# thing works. Also, how Unity works. So this isn’t likely to be the last you’re going to hear from me regarding Unity.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

What's your opinion?

