Returning to Sanctuary

Of all the holiday destinations available you had to pick this one.

Just a quick note before we get started. I know that I haven’t always been positive about Diablo III, or the design directions therein, or the mechanics therein for that matter, but I realised late last year that it wasn’t ever going to be what I expected it to be. Which is totally fine. As some people do enjoy it, do love playing it, and do feel that it’s the game they wanted it to be. This is why sometime in October-November last year I decided to remove it from my machine and consider it done. I’d got enough hours out of it for the money. I done the same thing with World of Warcraft actually, as, in late 2012, I stopped playing that and haven’t overturned that decision. Yet I was tempted when Mists of Pandaria was released- as I have been tempted with new Diablo III patches.

However, I am willing to give it a second chance- and it is getting closer to the experience I want- so who knows what the future will bring.

Given that I was almost but not entirely sure of what my characters were currently up to I decided to jump in with my first Barbarian. How I do like playing him. Now, it could be me, as I haven’t played it for a while, but the transition from Torment I to Torment II seems a bit smoother these days. He doesn’t seem to experience as much spiky damage in Torment II as he used to.

This could potentially mean that one or both of my Crusaders could be viable to slog it through Torment II at the moment. Not sure about my Wizard, though. She is still quite good at damage but lacking in the whole survivability department (or so my initial assessment of Torment II led me to believe). That said, there are a number of small quality of life changes and cosmetic things which have been added in recent patches. So, that could explain the difficulty scaling at least.

Diving into a Greater Rift I still find the same problems with the Keystone of Trials as before.

You see, in my case, with my Barbarian, as he has to kill things in a short space of time to earn the ranks in Greater Rifts he is punching above his weight due to Rampage. For those who are unaware what Rampage is or what it does, well, in a nutshell, it increases your Strength per kill. Which means in the Trials he’s able to keep a twenty five stack with ease. As is the case most likely with my Wizard who also has skills that require you stand still/accrue charges to maximise damage.

The Greater Rifts are much better, though. Long gone are the days of having to run through several empty corridors- you’re now swamped every step of the way! Which might be overwhelming for new players or more casual players but I love it. It’s the way I feel Greater Rifts should always have been seeing as they were on a timer.

I can’t really comment on the new items as I haven’t found any yet.

Overall, while I would agree it’s still not the game I expected- it does have a good mindless hack and slash thing going on. The recent two patches (which I’ve missed) seem to have brought the experience to a much more solid level of progression and difficulty. If I’ll keep playing is still open to debate- but it’s fun so far.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

What's your opinion?

