To the Temple of Helm!

The feeling you get when one of your (fairly useful) companions falls in battle in Baldur’s Gate.

The negative point to all of this is that when someone dies you can usually take them to a temple and revive them, in my case, well, the game crashes to desktop every time I try. Only in temples. Nowhere else. Which is one of the dangers of playing a game from yesteryear on a modern machine as sometimes things get a little odd. Mostly, as is the cases I have found, they were made for very specific sets of hardware rather than universal hardware. So once you leave their confined comfort zone of accepted configurations you’re open to all sorts.

This is… a slight problem. Moreso in that I could have had a few people dead rather than just the one that I ended up with. But now, poor Imoen, she is dead forever, as there isn’t really a way I can bring her back without some manner of console commands or exploits or something. As I don’t even believe if we do get a decent Cleric they can ever reach the Raise Dead spell.

If they can even reach the Raise Dead spell to begin with. I’m not entirely sure about that either.

To be honest, as you’ll well know if you’ve read my other D&D related posts- I am quite new to the whole experience. I had an isometric story rich party based itch last year and the only way to scratch it was to play a bunch of games I’d never played before. I’ve recently started a run in both Baldur’s Gate and Icewind Dale using all of the information I’ve accrued and it’s not going terribly at the moment. I just need to learn/understand/get used to a few more things. I’m also strongly considering buying the Neverwinter Nights Diamond Edition as that has got a ruleset I really like in it. Likewise for Icewind Dale II (though I already own that). I’m not overly keen on the Baldur’s Gate ruleset as it doesn’t seem to evolve as well or give you as many options.

While you may also remember that I did start Icewind Dale a couple of times prior in the very first case I had no idea what I was doing, in the second it was pretty much the same, and this time I have taken the time to get my head cleared and focused for the challenges ahead. I know that any of the old CRPGs of that ilk will require my full concentration for the party development.

I was also pawing through my Steam library and decided to give FATE a go. I’ve had my eye on it, bought it when it was on sale, and I’ve been interested in playing it but I haven’t really got around to it. It has some really nice concepts in it and I quite enjoy playing it. I don’t really assume the game ends but I’m taking the ending as the major boss quest you get given at the start of the game. Which is on the fiftieth level if I’m not mistaken. So, I’m guessing there’s a good 10-12 hours there. Of course, depending on how strong I am when I get there, and how much I’m enjoying it, I may push on deeper into the labyrinth.

So, yeah, there’s a lot of sweet gaming digs on offer right now. Figured it might be nice to do a more casual post in contrast to the reviews, new pieces, and other goodies going on right now.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

What's your opinion?

