Developing with Unity (Pt. 1)

I have a beach, a skeleton, and three tents. Well worth the week of coding. Really.

I don’t really know why, nor do I question it, but I am fascinated about game design and development. Which is why when I knew I could mod Legend of Grimrock I immediately dived into that engine to create something. I’ve always wanted to create something that I can share and that people can enjoy.

It’s partly the reason I enjoy doing creative things so much.

So, early in January, I decided to pick up Unity and give it a go. For those who are unaware what Unity is- it’s awesome. It’s a development studio that features a few different coding languages in which, well, if you can code it- you can make it. But best of all (if you’re still unsure whether you want to use it) it comes with a free version.

One great thing about Unity (considering it has a Free and Pro license) is that the free version comes with all of the tools you will need to actually begin developing your first project. Of course, it depends on what you’re aiming for, as higher quality functions are restricted to Pro, but it’s not like the free versions are all horribly grainy nasty textures and poor quality lighting. They’re really nice for free. Plus you can always import your own if you’re looking for something even higher quality. But the free version is pretty much usable from the first moment you open it up. Textures, terrain modelling, lighting, collision detection, character movement, camera control- it’s all there.

The other great thing about Unity is the Asset Store. There you can pick up any number of assets or example projects. Some are available for free (just be sure to check the license fits your needs) while you can also peruse the paid assets for high quality, ready to use, commercial use resources. That said, there are some really great assets available for free (with the only requirement that you credit them) so it’s not a case you have to spend a lot of money to get nice resources.

The addition of the Asset Store is a massive bonus as these assets can be instantly imported into your project (after downloading of course) to add working resources to your project with ease.

You can also find a number of free assets (which I do believe are developed by the Unity team themselves) for free on the Asset store. They’re varied and limited but there are some really nice additions like carts, tents, and other fantasy type models. Not to mention a lot of foliage and modern day assets too. It’s a wonderful thing.

Thus, over the course of two weeks, give or take, I disappeared from most places as I went to learn C# by which I mean I broke a lot of functions and poked them until they worked again. I haven’t got a great deal to show for it but I have something. Plus, I am currently going back over my old code and scripts and removing all of the unnecessary bits and pieces. So hopefully I will actually have an encounter system and you’ll actually be able to fight enemies and use magic and such.

It’s an interesting journey if nothing else.

Maybe one day I’ll have something I can share with you all that is actually playable. Which, if nothing else, would be further than I’ve ever got in any kind of game development prior to this.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie

What's your opinion?

