Forward into the New Year

I’m not one for making resolutions at the start of a new year.

I feel that if there’s anything you really want to do then you should attempt to do it whenever- not just at the start of a new year.  But this is coincidental timing that allows me to look forward at the start of 2015 and think about what was left over from the previous year, what I’m planning, and how I’m going to do it.

Thankfully I am over the gaming blues that plagued me for much of the end of the last year. I realise now that I was creating a new character, playing for a few hours, and then doing the same thing in another game. Then another. Then another. Which basically meant that I had a bunch of games started and nothing close to being finished. However, in light of the fact that there are few releases I am actually enthusiastic about- I don’t have to worry about my unfinished list getting much longer. While now that I’m more focussed on what needs to be completed it should be getting much smaller as the months roll on.

Regretfully that got a little out of hand and fell apart- as did much of my life- at the end of last year.

That said I am pretty happy that everything on WordPress, Twitch, Twitter, and the late Facebook is now concluded. The site is doing well. Could do with some content but that’s for another paragraph. Also got some late end of the year streaming done and cemented that amongst the list of things I do.

Over the festive season, besides dodging Steam sales, and looking wistfully at all the amazing titles only to find they’re already in my library, I’ve been putting some effort into creative things. It’s one of the few things I regret about the last two years. While I got a lot of my gaming backlog cleared, done a lot of personal things, and enjoyed a fine few luxuries- my art suffered. My entire creativity suffered. But instead of dwelling and burning WordPress and the rest to the ground (as I once thought to do) I decided to make something of the gaming angle.

I’ve never really spoken about it that much and knowing so many people on Twitter that game really helps.

I find that to be one of the pleasures in life that is never fully appreciated. Sometimes you’ll lose important things, sometimes you’ll forget to do things that really matter, sometimes you’ll regret lost time- but somehow life always gives you something else in return. I met some great people, I kept the sites going, I got a Twitch channel, I learned how to broadcast, I finally put my YouTube account to good use, and all because I didn’t decided to bury the sites due to lack of art.

All I’m hoping for the majority of 2015 is that the sites continue to exist, that I still maintain them, that I can add some art to the mixture, and that I can finally balance the gaming angle with the art angle here and on Twitter. That’s all. Pretty simple really.

I guess I feel good about things now?

Maybe I’m finally going to settle down and concede that this is what I do, this is what I’ll always do, and if I ever stop doing it you should worry. Maybe it’s time for me to find someone to spend my life with and buy a cottage somewhere pretty in England. Nah. Too simple for me.

Have a nice weekend, all!

Moggie

What's your opinion?

