SW:TOR The Jal’frezi Legacy (Pt. 9)

All things are fair in love and war. Also, in patching.

Earlier in December we saw the unveiling of the latest patch for Star Wars: The Old Republic which covers the newest expansion, many changes, some fixes, and a little bit of something for everyone wherever you find yourself in the game. It’s a pretty positive patch on reflection. Well, if you like the changes. If you don’t- maybe not.

I didn’t end up pre-ordering the expansion as there was little benefit to my characters in doing so. I mean, sure, there were some cool pre-order bonuses- but with hardly anyone at or around the level cap there wasn’t much point in having the Lvl 50+ content. I also like levelling so zooming past that at the speed of light with the experience bonus wasn’t really a selling point for me. It also means I didn’t get the early access to expansion areas (see previous reasons as to why this bothers me hardly at all), but, if you did, then you would have been able to play for something like seven days longer than anyone else. Neat, huh?

So very exciting... but so confusing at the same time.

So very exciting… but so confusing at the same time.

One of the more surprising things in the patch notes (as I wasn’t aware it was being changed) is the adjustment of the levelling process. It apparently now takes less time to reach the level cap as enemies aren’t as tough, they have less health, and they die easier. This is something that every MMO will need to address at some point- however, despite the necessity- does it really work in your favour to dilute the content pre-level cap? Lots of people (myself included) love the levelling process and making that easier isn’t always better.

In this case I can’t say from experience (as I haven’t done any levelling) how it will change the overall levelling speed, how much quicker it is, or how much easier it is, but I can support the reasoning behind it. I feel it’s always positive to keep a consistent pace while levelling and progressing to more content.

I wonder if this will affect the experience at all and whether you will still need to do several of the side quests. No experience adjustments mentioned but that doesn’t mean it’s not there.

The Disciplines system is something that I have incredibly positive feelings for as it solves many of the issues I hoped it would. Or, at least, in the limited exposure I’ve had to it on my Jedi Guardian. I’m almost kicking myself that I didn’t wait until this came out to start levelling him as he has access to so many more tanking talents and abilities, not to mention he’s gained many earlier than he would have, while he’s also got some new things that he didn’t have before, and overall I can’t say anything bad about this. At all. He certainly seems more like a tank should be. Though his rotation has changed slightly I’m indifferent as he can do so much more now.

I know many a hybrid character will be lamenting the loss of the system that allowed them such flexibility before but I think it’s a positive change for everyone. I can’t say that with certainty as I wasn’t playing for long before this new change came in so the veteran players might disagree, which, to be honest, they have every right to. Everyone likes different things.

Though SW:TOR hasn’t been on my list of things to play for a few weeks this patch might just bring me back to the Force. Or the soldiers of the Imperial or Republic armies.

Have a nice Sunday, all!

Moggie.

What's your opinion?

