Moggies & Dragons

Little did I know that Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic was going to ignite Moggie with a passion.

A passion for fine RPGs of the past. Fine RPGs of the past like Baldur’s Gate and Icewind Dale and others along the same lines. The kind of games where you get to choose who you take with you, what they do, and how they do it. Where inventory management is the most important part of combat as otherwise you would never know where your poultices, bombs, throwing weapons, arrows, or what have you are. Where you spend fifteen minutes fighting one ogre as that son of a basket weaver keeps smashing your Cleric and you know you can’t rest here.

It’s night time. That’s like opening the door to an ambush where everyone will be murdered.

Sure, these games are old and they smell like your grandfather’s cologne but that doesn’t mean they’re not awesome. Or manly. You’ve just got to give them time. Which is (shamefully) not what I did when I downloaded that PC demo for Baldur’s Gate II all those years ago. But, with age, like fine wine, I have come to appreciate the many aromas and flavours of adventuring.

I don’t know if I’ll enjoy these fine RPGs of the past but I am pretty excited about them as I get the feeling they’re going to be good. Any game where I can spend a full hour on the character creation screen trying to create a balanced party that will probably be eaten by wolves ten minutes in is my kind of game. I have this thing about managing inventories and sorting my characters and having symmetry in everything. I’m starting to think I have a problem. Then again, maybe that’s what they want me to think!

Who are they? You know- they. Them. Those nondescript people who get blamed for everything.

One thing I can say about this year is that it’s a year of experimentation. I got into an MMO for the first time in a long time, I’ve played some great old titles like Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, I’ve played some new titles that look like old titles like Legend of Grimrock, and I’ve played a few good indie games like The Incredible Adventures of Van Helsing. I’ve also done a little modding. I’m now discovering many fine RPGs of the past. I don’t even want to speculate what’s coming next.

All I do know is that it’s going to be an interesting few months of gaming ahead. I think that I’ll enjoy the Icewind Dale series much more than the Baldur’s Gate series, however, Baldur’s Gate II does look pretty good, so I might be surprised. If someone had told me I’d be playing Legend of Grimrock I’d have raised an eyebrow or two. Or three.

But therein lies some of the joy about having such eclectic tastes as a gamer. I haven’t had many games in the last few years that have actually hit the heights of the time I spent playing Fallout 3, which The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim and Fallout: New Vegas come the closest to, but that may be about to change. I do fully intend to play Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic again and probably realise I did everything wrong the first time around. I do that sometimes. I feel legitimately bad about the time I realised how easy it is to get the house in Megaton and how my first character in Fallout 3 didn’t have a house. At all.

Not even like a box somewhere.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie.

What's your opinion?

