Sketchy Dragonborn

I’ve always wondered how you can be a perfectly respectable member of society when you’re a known criminal but it’s okay ’cause you’re a hero type person.

In the case of the Dragonborn I suppose you’re more hated or ignored than loved. Most people seem to want to kill you ’cause you can shout in a foreign language and some of them are like “Yes, so, you can shout. Well done. I’ll give you a few Septims if you never speak to me again.” But, back to the point, if there was one, when I was playing my Argonian Dragonborn who was an expert assassin marksman I always wondered why people didn’t try to kill me when I’m known to have killed various people. It’s almost like they hate you and they hate talking to you but they won’t actually do anything about it.

Then again we are talking about the constraints of the AI in the engine that Skyrim was built in, so, really, it’s not surprising. It’s just kind of funny that you can go about doing whatever you please and unless someone actually sees you committing a crime you’re fine to go around killing anyone you wish. Or stealing everything that isn’t nailed down. Then if you are seen you can just pay them money to pretend they didn’t see it.

"Sketchy? Me? I'm as honest as a sweetroll."

“Sketchy? Me? I’m as honest as a sweetroll.”

Of course, my Nord, Dakrohn, wasn’t a criminal. He was a freight train made of muscle and various sharp weapons. He could throw his axe in spectacular fashion, cleave without remorse, take a few hits, take a few more, and continue fighting despite being drenched in his own blood. He was pretty cool. Also, the first character I actually seriously played in The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim as my very first one was a mimic of the one I had in The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. A sword and shield warrior. Or a mace and a shield. But, in either case- I didn’t like the way they played.

I don’t mind shields but I guess I prefer them when either they’re a part of your attacks or you don’t have to actively raise and lower them.

As I always forget when I’m slicing, dicing, maiming, and slaying my foes. Which kind of means I’m just using a one-handed weapon and missing out on the glory of cleaving and crushing them with a two-handed weapon or some dual-wielding whirl of steel and vengeance style. I take such decisions very seriously as you never know when you’re going to be cursing yourself for something you done many hours before.

In the case of this piece it’s a sort of amalgamation of everything that I’ve been experimenting with for my pencil style. But there’s some new stuff, too. I think this is the sort of direction I’m going to take and it’s going to blend nicely into an ink style. This is also one of the first pieces where I’ve used a 2B pencil alongside my usual. I’m thinking about using that for the deep shadows and keeping B as my general pencil while HB can be my lighter pencil. This way I have three grades rather than two. All things are better in threes.

Triangles for instance. What angle am I? Acute ’cause I’m gorgeous.

Have a nice weekend, all!

Moggie.

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

Nords, the fair lands of Skyrim, Ulfric Stormcloak, Whiterun, and all associated trademarks and devices are owned by Bethesda Softworks.

What's your opinion?

