Not What You Expected to See

I do apologise that I opened the door with not a single article of clothing on- but you did ring at 7am.

Honestly, when I have just woken up and I hear a knock upon my door it’s not the first thing that comes to mind. So I rush, half-naked, nearly blind (due to lack of contacts), and open the door to hear “have you got a moment to speak about Jesus?”, close it again, and put on some trousers. Alternatively I have a conversation with the lady from upstairs while squinting like I’ve just taken a lemon to the eye as I can’t see and I’m still processing the fact I’m awake. Good times.

Aren’t you glad I share these stories? I mean, I could be one of those artist types that never utters a word and writing a description or naming their piece is so incredibly awkward it’s just called “untitled112” as I have one hundred and eleven other untitled pieces- but where would be the fun in that?

Within the confines of this small blog, so happily hosted on WordPress, coded with the language of kings, and emblazoned with graphical marvels is what falls out of my brain when I shake my head. You know the way that cats do that super-cool-hyper-head-spin when they get a bit of fluff down their ear? Like that. Except mine is more like a lazy shuffle and all of a sudden my brain is leaking out of my ear. However, I think I need to refresh the juice it’s floating in. I don’t think there’s much left with all that has fallen out and what is there is probably stale- it’s been there for far too long. I’d probably make a reasonably entertaining YouTube person who talks about stuff and records themselves doing so… if I actually enjoyed doing that. Which I don’t.

Done that whole webcam thing once and she didn’t pay me.

I've died so many times I'm starting to feel a bit hollow.

I’ve died so many times I’m starting to feel a bit hollow.

During my time at Sen’s Fortress I learned how to fall off of things a lot… an awful lot… an embarrassing number of times actually. I am vertically challenged, not in the sense that I am short- for I am not short- but I can’t climb stairs in video games. But, while running back and exploring when the feeling struck, I found a great admiration for my character. She was hardy. She was resilient. She didn’t hate me for all the times I’ve dodged off of cliffs, rolled down holes, rolled into chasms, fell off of beams, and rolled into the weirdest environmental damage. She also had really nice armour.

If I give Dark Souls a thumbs up for anything it’s that. The armour designs are generally very tasty and if you overlook the fact that there are few sets that are not damaged, aged, or torn to some degree there’s a lot of work you can evidently see in the armour sets. I also really like the Wanderer’s Set. It’s lovely.

It’s not what I expected I would end up doing as it was the complete opposite of my usual character choice and I wasn’t able to soak damage, let my shield eat the pain, and go on my merry way slashing and slicing foes. It did give me a unique insight into how to play those kind of characters, though. Technically she wasn’t a true (for lack of a better word) Wanderer as she had Sorceries and used some medium armour to augment her starter set. That, and few curved swords or rapiers appealed to me.

But the beauty was that she was a bit of everything. She dodged, rolled, parried, and did the odd riposte. She had physical power in her swords and a magical edge with her various bolts of luminescent death. She also could easily switch to a bow for some long range engagements.

If I were to play Dark Souls II I would be heavily biased towards starting a character a lot like her. Then again, I might not as I’m sure there were some points in the first game I could have adapted to much quicker had I the prior knowledge of how the engagements worked. She didn’t really tank anything- or even have the ability to- and it was only later when I invested in a shield with higher stability that she didn’t get pounded every time she blocked. Therefore, any fights where I would take heavy damage for one reason or another took a bit longer as she had to drink more Estus and usually die a couple of times to get the knack for that one.

This piece was something I had at the back of my mind during many hours spent staring at her falling off of things. It’s just a simple portrait and it’s trying to capture a varying number of ideas and styles without settling for any one of them for the presentation. I guess that explains my art in one these days. I know what I’m doing but I don’t know what I’m doing. Then again I am trying to recreate my style.

In either case, it’s just something small to say “I still know how to hold a pencil.”

Have a nice weekend, all!

Moggie.

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

Hollows, Bonfires, Havel’s Set, Estus Flasks, and all associated trademarks and devices are owned by FROMSOFTWARE.

What's your opinion?

