Evolution of Moggie

Secretly I’m going to evolve into a really cool Fire and Steel type that will subsequently melt himself every time he attempts to use any special moves.

If only that were the case. I could live in a ball and get taken everywhere, get free food, get a friend, and all I’d have to do for all of that is fight others of my kind to the death. Pretty sweet, right?

As it is probably painfully evident (as everything has changed massively in the last few months) things are moving forward. Moving to where? Who knows. When are they going to get there? Anyone’s guess. The point is things are progressing and for the first time in a long time I’ve taken to completely re-branding myself (for lack of a better term) with a new site, social media page updates, new content, more news, and the continual push forward to get everything in line with everything else.

To be fair, for a while I’d become very passive and looked at my site (and largely my art) and thought it was over.

That’s where a great deal of this motivation originally came from. I figured it was time to throw in the towel and quit. It would have been a big decision to make… but things weren’t working out. Much had changed in the last few months and most of it not for the better.

But then, as if by magic, or some spiritual force, I got this rush of motivation. I began to feel like my old self again. I was balancing Diablo III, Mass Effect, work, life, sleep, and the development of my site over weekdays and weekends. Pushing all of them forward and actually feeling like “Hey- I want to do this.” That’s why the development of my site has been so heavily pushed recently. I want to get it finished. But not because I want to see it over and done with- but because it’s a great addition to what I do.

I look at the new art pages and I can see the transition in style, approach, materials, and so on with every piece. It’s there. It’s reached that point which I originally aimed for some five-six years ago when I first launched the site. It’s the smallest one in terms of content and has been trimmed down a lot- but it’s there.

Then again, I feel that even though there’s less content it’s actually more effective that way. The new pages have a lot more initial interest built as you scan over these thumbnails and think “that one looks cool” or you read through the pages explaining what I use or who I am and there’s less clicking, less fussing with individual sections, and more focus on getting you to where you need to be as quickly as possible. Want to look at the art? You can be there in two clicks. Want to find out what I use? One click and you’re there. Want to follow me on social media? Just one click. It’s better and more compact and really allows you to dive straight into the content you want to see.

Pooling some older ideas from previous sites and using some newer ideas it’s an amalgamation of the best of the previous and the new standard for the sites and art to come. It’s kind of inspiring and with the time I’m not going to be spending building the new site (soon) I’ll have more time for new content.

That would be shocking wouldn’t it?

Have a great week, all!

Moggie.

What's your opinion?

