“He’s the father of a legend, just Saiyan.”

I really shouldn’t as it’s incredibly low brow to make that pun- I just couldn’t resist. Today we’re looking at that wonderful potato-shaped baby Moggie once again.

Baby Moggie had a number of interests that older Moggie has inherited and developed. Some he’s forgotten, some he’s adapted, and some he’s still interested in but they’re not as big a part of his life as they used to be. Akira Toriyama is perhaps one of the biggest influences on my life to date. Chrono Trigger, Dragonball Z, his amazing ideas, his amazing concepts and universes, and his signature style. Impossible to copy and even harder to translate into other styles.

Yet, when you see it- you know it was one of Toriyama’s.

So, right now, we’re looking at a recent drawing of Bardock. The father of Goku. Apparently (as I’d never watched the movies) a Super Saiyan and perhaps the first? There’s a lot to love about the guy even if my favourite character is Vegeta. One major difference between himself and Goku is that he wears Saiyan armour which seems to have an endless amount of variations and he also has a tail that he uses to keep his belly button warm. (Or that’s how I see it.)

This isn’t a finished piece that will be gracing the site with its presence but it still has a number of qualities worth noting and comes in as one of the few pieces I’ve finished in a while. The style is a mixture of Toriyama’s and my own and the hair is… something else. Full analysis after the display.

Bardock

One thing that stands out to  me is that, while this paper is good, it doesn’t really hit the levels of quality I wanted to achieve. It’s got too much texture and takes pencil far too softly. Then again, that’s not necessarily the paper but also myself for changing the way I approach things.

I didn’t realise I was running out of that paper until I drew this. So I had to go and buy some more! But, I think, in the time I’ve been using it, I’ve come to the conclusion that I have learned a lot but it might not be the paper for me. I don’t think I’m ready to commit (so to speak). However- it does have uses. So I’ll keep some on hand just in case I need it at any time. I think I might try again with the Winsor & Newton illustration paper I used to use. See if I can get the kind of results I want.
The textures in the fur, hair, clothes, and the rest of the piece are just fine and what I was aiming for. Equally, I’m not up to full capacity (as it were) at the moment.

So I see room for improvement but I definitely like it.

Have a nice day, all!

Moggie.

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

Bardock, Goku, Dragon Balls, Shenlong, and all associated trademarks and devices are owned by Akira Toriyama.

What's your opinion?

