“You look like a man who likes desks.”

I do enjoy a good desk now and then. Unfortunately, they’re a lot more expensive than a cup of coffee so I can’t enjoy them quite as much but they do last longer.

Many years ago I purchased my first art desk. Prior to this I had stored the majority of my materials in an old biscuit tin and kept most of it together under my computer desk which, besides my materials, was already cramped, so I had to figure out a way to store them but have easy access to them. I didn’t really enjoy the fact that I had to almost assemble all of my materials in order to create things as I spent a fair amount of time getting them out and putting them away.

It just didn’t inspire me to be creative.

But there was a slight problem. I didn’t really have anywhere for a permanent work area which is why I had tried fold down tables, boxes, cabinets and other crazy ideas before. So how on Earth would I manage to fit a desk in this room? Well, to be honest, I have no idea how I did it, but I found a rather small desk which fit in rather well in the corner. So it went. So it stayed. I have enjoyed creating many pieces on that desk over the years but it started to fall into disuse a while back. As in about two years back.

Mostly as my way of doing things had changed and I spent more time storing materials in the desk rather than using it for creating things. Which wasn’t what I wanted and not how I had envisaged it going. So I’ve been thinking more about it and thinking I want to go back to that way of doing things.

For those that have never seen it- this is my old art desk:


There was a lot to love about how much freedom it gave me for doing various projects and while the desk itself was small and fit for purpose in the old way of doing things, I could now afford something a bit bigger, and with a bit more space. It also gave me an opportunity to really sort through everything and make sure it was all relevant. So, after much work, a couple of hundred sterling, and many hours I have upgraded to a new desk. That I sadly don’t have any photos of- but it’s pretty awesome.

I used it for the first time recently and I had a really good few hours (more like seven-eight) of drawing and really coming back home. In a creative sense. So, yes, going forward, there’s a lot more chances for me to actually sit down and develop good pieces. Ones I’m proud of.

I’ve also bolstered my collection with various new materials to make the transition super awesome.

I guess what I’m trying to say in a roundabout way and with a lot of love for desks is that you should always have a place to do whatever it is you do. Where you can get away from the world and just focus all of your energy into it- even if it’s not a physical space as such. Creativity cannot flourish if it doesn’t have the chance. Much like many other things. You have to really put into it to get something out of it. You don’t need to have a studio (though it’s always the dream) but just somewhere to do whatever it is you do.
You’ll be amazed at how a little bit of separation from everything else will do for your work and your inspiration.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie.

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

3 thoughts on ““You look like a man who likes desks.”

What's your opinion?

