Festive New Year!

The festive season is just about over while the New Year is right around the corner so it’s probably the best time to do a post about 2012, Christmas, and everything in-between!

So where have I been? Well, that’s a good question and one that’s not so easily answered as I haven’t really been putting out any new pieces. So I’ll say it in one word- computers! You know, those things that make our lives infinitely easier but are questionably removing our ability to think and act for ourselves? Those! I built my new machine in December and while it’s primary focus was gaming the specifications are good enough for just about anything I want to do with them, which means I’ll be able to update my sites and everything else much easier now.

And update them I will!

But, before that, I’d like to share with you one of the very first screenshots taken on one of the very first games to be installed on this new machine. I have a very regimental, almost military, kind of scarily accurate way of updating computers and so this wasn’t too far into the building (on the first day I do believe)- so without further delay- The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim! (Click for full view.)

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

Ain’t that beautiful? I have felt that Bethesda had really outdone themselves with the graphics in that game for a while but when you see it on ultra high settings you are just completely blown away.

While we’re talking screenshots and awesome graphics I’d like to point out the stylisation of the graphics in Borderlands. Or in this case, Borderlands 2. Which I think has really advanced from the original and created a much smoother, slicker, cleaner, and generally more enjoyable experience. It also has one of the best sequel stories in recent history and is a thoroughly enjoyable play. So, again, without further delay- Borderlands 2! (Click for full view.)

Borderlands 2

But this Christmas hasn’t been all about gaming or who spent how much at what Steam Sale (my wallet is crying tears of happiness right now), it’s also been about the festive fun that you only get at Christmas. Christmas music, Christmas food, Christmas drink, Christmas parties, and anything else you can successfully put “Christmas” in front of. This has been a good one as I’ve been able to do a lot and I’ve had a lot of good times running up to this season, too. All in all I’d say that 2012 was a challenging but fun year.

Equally it’s probably one of my most enjoyable years and there’s been a peppering of successful in there too.

The only thing left to do now is look forward 2013, remember to sign my pieces “Moggie ’13” from here on out, and get around to that tattoo piece that a friend requested a while back.

All the best for the best New Year!

Moggie.

What's your opinion?

