Cuddly – 2012 – Coloured Pencil – click for full view on site!

The best bear hug you could ask for.

Faber Castell Polychromos are pretty neat. I like them. Which is an odd thing to say as I never really considered myself interested in coloured pencils, but these coloured pencils allow me to do the kinds of things I’m interested in doing. Such as illustrating bears. Which, technically, as someone told me to draw a bear and I did just that, it’s not entirely what I was interested in doing. But we’re splitting hairs! Hairs which take meticulous layering of several colours to even be visible.

That and decent scanner settings.

While it’s far from perfect (the nose is a lil’ more blue than it should be) it’s an improvement on previous attempts. I’m going to see how I can improve future scan attempts to better reflect the physical piece, which is not always something I have complete control over. But the elements which I can control (or manipulate) will be adjusted to best reflect the original.

Cuddly – 2012 – Coloured PencilHopefully this will result in better presentation for you, less headaches for me, and more fun for the cat that never stops climbing inside my printer whenever it’s doing anything. She sure loves her mechanical devices that make operating noises. With this piece you can see the results of better scan settings through the hair (both the strands and general detail therein). Not to mention a stronger contrast between colours. I’m not even that bothered by the slightly bluer than intended nose, either.

It’s quite a nice touch.

I’ve enjoyed working on a number of animal illustrations recently. That, again, is something a little odd for me say, as that was never my intention when I first looked into coloured pencils. But what would a journey be without a little surprise? Or excitement? Or both? Boring, I’d say.

Have a nice Sunday, all.

Moggie

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

What's your opinion?

