Deathclaw v2 – 2012 – Pencil – click for full view on site!

It just wants to hug you.

See how it has its arms slightly open towards you? That’s how you know. I’m not going to guarantee you’ll survive if you go anywhere near it, though. That’s something you’ll have to figure out for yourself. But, if you do, I suggest you take a suit of combat armour and perhaps a minigun with you. Deathclaws have been a common feature in my creative efforts for a while. I’m not sure why I’m so hooked on their concept art nor that of the yao guai- but it’s not entirely a bad thing.

It allows me to bring you posts such as these!

I was hoping to emphasise the slender frame and general uniqueness of this creature with this piece. I find the endless possibilities resulting from the unique biological reactions from exposure to extreme radiation quite fascinating! If not a little harder to reference than I’d like them to be.

Deathclaw v2 – 2012 – PencilWhy the slender frame? Well, physically imposing creatures usually have significantly developed musculature and are bulky. Deathclaws are not bulky- they’re terrifying. They’re slender dodge reliant demons who can evade bullets, like you evade the gym on your way home from work. Don’t worry- I do it, too. I won’t tell if you don’t. It’s just an interesting comparison to, say, their super mutant brothers, who are actually the classic physically imposing bulky behemoth. No pun intended.

Then again, if it’s a behemoth it can’t not be bulky. It’s huge!

The inspiration for this piece came quite simply from yet another Fallout: New Vegas character. This time under the flag of the NCR and currently regretting ever stepping inside the Sierra Madre. It’s not that the place is literal hell (which it is)- but they took my guns! I needed those! This spear is useless to me!

Have a nice Sunday, all!

Moggie

Art, design, and the like found herein (unless otherwise specified) is drawn and owned by David Wilkshire (also credited as Moggie) from 2006 to present date.

Fallout, Deathclaws, Super Mutants, Pip-Boys, and all associated trademarks and devices are owned by Interplay/Bethesda.

What's your opinion?

