It Was Just a Year Ago

I was younger, more charismatic, healthier, and looked so much better in tight fitting swimming trunks. Can anyone say “beefcake”?

That, of course, being one of the many things that exist only in my head. I’ve never looked good in tight fitting swimming trunks! Anyway, there is a point to this post and it’s not to talk about any bulges I may or may not have in swimming trunks.

It has been a year or so since I had that great rush in 2011 where I felt I was going places with my art. Later, as noted in the last piece, I started to feel that while it was good it wasn’t as good as I’d first given it credit to be.
Throughout this year I’ve worked to replace a few and I currently have a work in progress designed to do just that. Though it’s not going to become a permanent trend- I just want to “save” some concepts.

The one thing that really stands out about these pieces is how much stronger (or better) they are. They have stronger anatomy, stronger sketches, stronger form, better depth- overall they’re just stronger pieces. Stronger! But that’s not all, the translation from concept to finished piece is clearer than before. Which is something I’ve had great difficulty with in the past.

So you can see how this would be making me happy, right?

On top of this already good news I’ve started doing a few more pieces that fall into the fantasy art category and it has been, well, quite awesome, considering how I’d been struggling with that too.
All in all I’m just really glad to be looking at work in 2011 which I felt was my peak and see it easily surpassed in 2012. If I can top that- maybe I can top 2012’s work? Maybe a trend to continue where my style continues to evolve? Still, I don’t want to get too carried away with it.

I’m doing better work and it looks nice and though I haven’t posted for a while I have a work in progress that just needs to be finished. Which could happen any day now.

Have a nice week, all!

Moggie.

What's your opinion?

